Morrow, Egan and Mitchell lead Munster Seniors at Tramore
Adrian Morrow (Portmarnock). Picture by  Pat Cashman

Adrian Morrow (Portmarnock). Picture by Pat Cashman

Royal Curragh’s Alan Egan, Tramore’s John Mitchell and Portmarnock’s Adrian Morrow shot two over 74s to lead after the first round of the Munster Senior Open at a rain lashed Tramore.

The trio head the 107-strong field by a stroke from former Walker Cup player Garth McGimpsey, Doneraile’s Michael Quirke  and Fota Island’s George Mellerick.

Egan was five over with four to play but birdied the 15th, 16th and 17th to post his 75 as Mitchell went two over after three holes on his home course before playing the remaining holes in level par with a bogey at the 10th and a double bogey six at the 13th cancelled out by birdies at the fifth, 11th and 17th.

Plus two handicapper Morrow parred the first nine holes before record two birdies, three pars and four bogeys on the way home,

Three time Munster Seniors winner Arthur Pierse from Tipperary (2008, ’10 and ’13) and Milltown’s David Walpole posted four over 76s

The second round gets underway at 7.30am and live scoring will be available from midday.

Munster Seniors Amateur Open Championship, Sponsored by Majestic Hotel Tramore (Par 72, CSS 75)

Detailed scores

74 Alan Egan (Curragh), John Mitchell (Tramore), Adrian Morrow (Portmarnock)

75 Garth M McGimpsey (Royal Portrush), Michael Quirke (Doneraile), George Mellerick (Fota Island)

76 Arthur Pierse (Tipperary), David Walpole (Milltown)

77 Billy Donlon (Birr), D.r. Weekes (Malone), Mervyn Eager (Lucan)

78 Liam Mac Namara (Rosslare), Alan Lilley (Ballyclare), Stephen McCarthy (Milltown), Rory Timlin (Galway)

79 Michael F Galvin (Limerick), Peter Rogers (Dundalk), Ivor O'Callaghan (Youghal), Francis Reynolds (Tramore), Tadg Heenan (Doneraile), John L Hughes (Woodbrook), Michael Ahern (Skerries)

80 Philip Clifford (Limerick), Tom Tyrrell (The Heath), Richard McDowell (Royal Belfast), Kevin Knightly (The Royal Dublin), G. A. Finn (Cork), Kevin Murray (Tramore), Barry O'Leary (Greystones), Richard Brooker (Skerries), Turlough Considine (Clontarf), Kevin Sheehy (Athlone), Frank Leonard (Knightsbrook), Keith Lapsley (Dunfanaghy)

81 Steve Prendergast (The Royal Dublin), Brendan O Malley (The Royal Dublin), Kieran O'Mahony (Galway), Neal Pitches (New Zealand), Donal O' Donovan (Bandon), Nigel Woods (Bangor), Val Smyth (Co. Louth), Joseph Dowey (Lurgan), Gerard O'Kennedy (Athlone), Jerry Crean (Kinsale)

82 Jack Dempsey (Curragh), Liam Halpin (Westport), Derry Harte (Fota Island), William Mernagh (Kanturk), Sean F. Hosty (Galway), John Carroll (Bandon), Michael Sullivan (Tramore), Brendan McDonnell (K Club), Jimmy McCarthy (Nuremore)

83 Adrian Sheedy (Cork), William Hounglee (Malaysia), Morgan Pierse (Grange)

84 Dermot Morris (Limerick), Michael Coote (Tralee), Noel Mannion (Dun Laoghaire), Brian Whitaker (Elm Park), John O'Donoghue (Tipperary), Patrick Higgins (Forrest Little.)

85 David Coyle (K Club), H N MacKeown (Portmarnock), Tom Byrne (Greystones), Rory Fitzgerald (Waterford Castle)

86 Michael Darcy (Oughterard), Tim Griffin (Corballis Links), John Waters (Portugal), John Hooley (Youghal), Gerard O'Sullivan (Tralee), Neville Atkinson (Woodbrook)

87 Eamon Connolly (Blainroe), Declan Corcoran (Thurles), Noel Paterson (Milltown), Gerry O'Keeffe (Waterford), John Cuffe (Monkstown), A W Smith (Blainroe), Paul Cooley (Portstewart)

88 Nick Beale (Milltown), David Sheedy (Lahinch), John Houlihan (Dooks), Jerry Gore (Oughterard), Patrick J Murphy (Cork), Kieran Ryan (Bandon), William J O Brien (Ballykisteen)

89 Tony Goode (Lucan), Neale Jenkins (Donaghadee), Alistair Campbell (Massereene), P.j. Phelan (Cahir Park), Brian McClean (The Royal Dublin)

90 Ken Newens (Castlerock), Paul Dykes (Dunmore)

91 Richard Grey (Wimbledon Common), Paddy Donnachie (Cobh), Mike Hennessy (Lahinch), John McGrath (Newcastle West), Greg Murphy (K Club), John Corbett (Thurles), Martin Higgins (Claremorris)

92 Joe Crowley (Athy), Tony Hayes (Co. Louth)

93 Eugene Slater (Dungarvan)

95 Michael Lavelle (Muskerry), Paddy Harrington (Muskerry)

100 John McCann (Co. Louth), Rory Kennedy (Woodstock).