Limerick bridge 10-year gap to win Munster in AIG Senior Cup
Victorious Limerick AIG Senior Cup Team qualifiers for All Ireland Finals in September. Picture: Golffile

Victorious Limerick AIG Senior Cup Team qualifiers for All Ireland Finals in September. Picture: Golffile

A dramatic 18th green finish saw Limerick Golf Club end a 10-year for Munster supremacy in the AIG Senior Cup at Dungarvan Golf Club.

Mike O’Kelly held his nerve to make a five-foot putt for par to maintain his one-hole lead and clinch the pennant for Limerick.  

O’Kelly went one up on the 17th but his approach found space next to the 10th tee which was used as a temporary car park.  

After the cars were removed, the Limerick man chipped up to the edge of the green and got down in two.

Monkstown’s journey on the 18th was equally interesting as Shane Livesey’s ball lodged in a hedge behind the green and after a long time establishing the correct position, he took a penalty drop, recovering to make par for a half that meant that Limerick won 3-2.  

Limerick’s two other points came from Pat Murray and Justin Kehoe, while Donal McDonnell and Eoghan Long secured two points for Monkstown.

Limerick had a relatively straightforward win over Tralee in their semi-final, led by Pat Murray with a 3&2 win in the first match.  Monkstown had a titanic battle in their semi-final against Tramore.  

Tramore looked like winning as the match drew to a close but wins from Eoghan Long and a great win by Sean Desmond on the 20th saw the Cork side through.
Mr John Moloughney, Chairman of the Munster Branch, congratulated the winners and thanked all of the teams for a very entertaining day of golf.  

He thanked everyone from Dungarvan Golf Club for providing an excellent course, and Tournament Director Liam Harkin and referees John Fennessy, Tom Donnelly and Barry Lynch.  

He wished Limerick the best in the All Ireland Finals next month.
Limerick now join Muskerry, Ballybunion and Thurles on the road to Carton House for the AIG Cups & Shields finals which take place in September.

AIG Senior Cup Munster Final, Dungarvan Golf Club


Limerick beat Monkstown 3-2

  1. Mike Reddan lost to Donal McDonnell 5&4
  2. Pat Murray beat Nick Moore 3&1
  3. Mike O’Kerry beat Shane Livesey 1up
  4. Darragh Fitzgerald lost to Eoghan Long 4&3
  5. Justin Kehoe beat Sean Desmond 4&3


AIG Senior Cup Munster Semi-Final

Monkstown beat Tramore 3-2

  1. Donal McDonnell beat Chris Butler 3&2
  2. Nick Moore lost to Paul Flynn 4&3
  3. Shane Livesey lost to David Kiely 4&2
  4. Eoghan Long beat Charlie Dawson 1 up
  5. Sean Desmond beat Declan King 20th

AIG Senior Cup Munster Semi-Final

Limerick beat Tralee 3.5-1.5

  1. Pat Murray beat Fergal O’Sullivan 3&2
  2. Mike Reddan lost to Gerard Deegan 2&1
  3. Mike O’Kelly beat Eoghan O’Donnell 2&1
  4. Darragh Fitzgerald halved with Joseph O’Neill
  5. Justin Kehoe beat Darren O’Sullivan 2/1.

Sunday 16th August — AIG Irish Junior Cup

  • 10th Tee 8.30am: Limerick v Ballybunion
  • 1st Tee 8.30am:  Mitchelstown v Douglas
  • Final 1st Tee: 40 Minutes after last match.