Muskerry retain Munster title in Barton Shield

AIG Barton Shield, Munster champions 2015 - Muskerry. Picture: Golffile

Muskerry retained their AIG Barton Shield with a fine win over Shannon in the Munster final at Dungarvan.

With three holes left Monkstown were one down overall but they went on to win all three holes.  

Niall Gorey and David O’Donovan birdied the testing 18th hole to level their match.  

In the second game, Muskerry’s Daniel Hallissey and Shane Whooley went one up on the 17th, forcing pressure on Shannon going onto the 18th.  

With the pressure of needing a win, Shannon went for the par five green in two and unfortunately they went long out of the rough and ended up out of bounds.  Hallissey laid up and Whooley chipped on to three feet to give Muskerry the hole and the match. 
Both semi-finals were over early with strong wins for both finalists.  

Muskerry saw off Youghal this morning when they beat them by five holes as Shannon  beat Ballybunion by eight holes.  

Accepting the Munster pennant, Muskerry team manager Greg O’Sullivan thanked every associated with the win the players, caddies, supporters, and especially the Club Officers for all their support during the year.  Muskerry now take the familiar path to Carton House for a national semi-final match in the second week of September.
Mr John Moloughney, Chairman Munster Branch congratulated the winners and thanked all of the teams for a very entertaining day of golf.  He thanked everyone from Dungarvan Golf Club for providing an excellent course, and he thanked the Tournament Director Liam Harkin and referees John Fennessy, Tom Donnelly and Barry Lynch.  He wished Limerick the best in the All Ireland Finals next month. 

AIG Barton Shield Munster Final

Muskerry beat Shannon 2 holes

Niall Gorey & Dave O’Donovan halved with Lewy Halpin & Jamie O’Shea
Daniel Hallissey & Shane Whooley beat Edward Hickey & Jason O’Donnell 2 holes

AIG Barton Shield Munster Semi-Finals

Muskerry beat Youghal 5 holes

  • Niall Gorey & Dave O’Donovan beat Conor Coyne & Eoghan McCarthy 3 holes
  • Daniel Hallissey & Shane Whooley beat Colin Donoghue & Darren O’Sullivan 2 holes

Shannon beat Ballybunion 8 holes

  • Lewy Halpin & Jamie O’Shea beat Senan Carroll & Frank Geary 5 holes
  • Edward Hickey & Jason O’Donnell beat David O’Driscoll & Ed Stack 3 holes