Walker Cup equation at Royal Portrush: Hume + Moynihan = options

Gary McNeill (Royal Portrush Professional) and John White (Team Manager) watching Paul McBride, Gavin Moynihan and Jack Hume practice to the 12th hole for the 2015 Home International Matches at Royal Portrush Golf Club (11/08/2015). Picture by Pat Cashman

Great Britain and Ireland captain Nigel Edwards will be in the US when the Walker Cup team is officially announced on August 24.

That's the day after the US Amateur Championship at Olympia Fields in the Chicago suburbs, where Gary Hurley, Paul Dunne and Cormac Sharvin will be bidding to confirm their expected selection with solid performances.

In what is now an example of the stark reality of the modern amateur game, it is at a USGA event on a parkland course rather than a GB& I event on a links that the final decisions will be made.

But that's not to say that this week's Home Internationals, which begin at Royal Portrush today, will not have a bearing on the final decision of Edwards and the selectors.

Ireland defend the Raymond Trophy with five new caps — The Island's Paul McBride, Castle's Alex Gleeson, Knock's Colin Fairweather, Hermitage's Rowan Lester and Tullamore's Stuart Grehan.

But from a Walker Cup perspective, all eyes may well be on the performances of Naas' Jack Hume, who is believed by man to have an excellent chance of selection for Royal Lytham and St Annes next month.

With the strength of the Dunne-Hurley partnership already well known — they've dropped just half a point in their last nine matches together — Hume can strengthen his hand by showing his good understanding with 2013 Walker Cup player Gavin Moynihan alongside when they take on England's Ben Taylor and Tomasz Anderson in the opening foursomes.

That Hume is pitted against Jimmy Mullen at No 1 in the singles is also fascinating and perhaps an indicator of the battle for places in Edwards' 10-man side to face the USA from September 12-13.

The Irish Home International Team front row (from left) Rowan Lester, Colm Campbell, Tony Goode (Team Captain), Michael Connaughton (President, GUI), Dermot McElroy and John Ross Galbraith. Back row (from left) Neil Manchip (National Coach), Stuart Grehan, Paul McBride, Colin Fairweather, Robin Dawson, Alex Gleeson, Gavin Moynihan and Jack Hume at the opening ceremony of the 2015 Home International Matches at Royal Portrush Golf Club. (11/08/2015). Picture by Pat Cashman

Home Internationals, Royal Portrush Golf Club, County Antrim
Supported by Fairstone Financial Management
Wednesday 12th – Friday 14th August 2015

England. Picture by  Pat Cashman

England. Picture by Pat Cashman

Scotland. Picture by Pat Cashman

Wales. Picture by Pat Cashman


Ireland v England (Ireland names first)

Foursomes (7.30am at 10-minute intervals)

  1. Gavin Moynihan & Jack Hume v Ben Taylor & Tomasz Anderson
  2. Dermot McElroy & Colin Fairweather v Ashley Chesters & Jimmy Mullen
  3. Robin Dawson & Alex Gleeson v Alfie Plant & Dan Brown
  4. Paul McBride & Stuart Grehan v Paul Kinnear & Jamie Bower
  5. John-Ross Galbraith & Colm Campbell v Ashton Turner & Sean Towndrow

Singles (12.30pm at nine-minute intervals)

  1. Jack Hume  v Jimmy Mullen
  2. Gavin Moynihan v Ashley Chesters
  3. Dermot McElroy v Joe Dean
  4. Colin Fairweather v Tomasz Anderson
  5. Robin Dawson v Alfie Plant
  6. Rowan Lester v Ashton Turner
  7. Colm Campbell v Ben Taylor
  8. Paul McBride v Sean Towndrow
  9. Stuart Grehan v Paul Kinnear
  10. John Ross Galbraith v Jamie Bower

Scotland v Wales (Scotland names first)

Foursomes (8.20am at 10-minute intervals)

  1. Graeme Robertson & Jack McDonald v David Boote & Michael Hearne
  2. Connor Syme & Robert McIntyre v Ben Westgate & Tim Harry
  3. Matt Clark & Barry Hume  v Jack Davidson & Tom Williams
  4. Craig Howie & Craig Ross v Zach Guilford & Evan Griffith 
  5. Daniel Young & Greig Marchbank  v Owen Edwards & Richard James

Singles (2pm at nine-minute intervals)

  1. Jack McDonald v David Boote
  2. Graeme Robertson v Michael Hearne
  3. Robert McIntyre v Joshua Davies
  4. Connor Syme v Ben Westgate
  5. Craig Ross v Evan Griffith
  6. Craig Howie  v Jack Davidson
  7. Ryan Campbell v Tim Harry
  8. Barry Hume v Zach Guilford
  9. Greig Marchbank v Owen Edwards
  10. Daniel Young v Richard James