Watch out for Lowry at Esker Hills

Alan Lowry in action at the East of Ireland Amateur Open earlier this month. Picture: Thos Caffrey /

Tied second in last year's Irish Youths and a creditable 18th in the East of Ireland on Monday, Esker Hills' Alan Lowry might just be one to watch in next week's Sigma Wireless sponsored Leinster Youths at his home track.

The Offaly man is clearly a player on the rise as he showed with his closing 71 at Baltray.

He certainly won't be lacking for support from June 16-18 though his brother Shane, the European Tour player, won't be there as he plays in the US Open at Pinehurst No 2.

The two-time European Tour winner took time out on Monday to watch his little brother in the third round at County Louth. He shot a 75 in the morning but produced his first sub-par score of the week in the afternoon. Perhaps the absence of big brother is just what he needs.

Lowry in action in last year's Irish Youths at Claremorris. Picture: Thos Caffrey /

Lowry in action in last year's Irish Youths at Claremorris. Picture: Thos Caffrey /

The list of former winners of the event is a Who's Who of Irish golf from inaugural winner Philip Walton in 1979 to Paul McGinley (1985 & '87), Gary Murphy (1990), Pádraig Harrington (1991), Graeme McDowell (2000) and Gareth Maybin (2001). 

Shane Lowry will no doubt be well aware than his close pal Dara Lernihan was the first player to win the title back-to-back in 2006 and 2007. Could a Lowry finally get his name on the trophy?


Leinster Youths Amateur Open 2014, sponsored by Sigma Wireless, Esker Hills GC (June 16-18) Tee-times

Time R1 Match Time R2 Name Club
0800 1 1033 Liam Harnett Milltown Milltown
Ronan Hall United Arab Emirates United Arab Emirates
Jamie Keenan Old Conna Old Conna
0809 2 1042 Marc Boucher Carton House Carton House
Keith Murphy Charlesland Charlesland
Darragh Fitzgerald Limerick Limerick
0818 3 1051 Alan Lowry Esker Hills Esker Hills
Jack McDonnell Forrest Little. Forrest Little.
Sean Doyle Athlone Athlone
0827 4 1100 Matthew Kane Whitehead Whitehead
Rob Brazill Naas Naas
David Travers Carton House Carton House
0836 5 1109 Jake Whelan Newlands Newlands
Stephen Kinch Hollystown Hollystown
Declan Kelly Hermitage Hermitage
0845 6 1118 Daniel Brennan Shannon Shannon
Daire Creavin Killeen Castle Killeen Castle
Conor Harte Castle Castle
0854 7 1127 Jonathan Yates Naas Naas
Cathal Butler Kinsale Kinsale
Luke Donnelly Callan Callan
0903 8 1136 Robbie Pierse Grange Grange
Rory Williamson Holywood Holywood
Max Thallon Bangor Bangor
0912 9 1145 Paul McCarthy Mallow Mallow
Bill Murray Waterford Castle Waterford Castle
Daniel O'Connor Athlone Athlone
0921 10 1154 Ronan Mullarney Galway Galway
Jack Solan Rathsallagh Rathsallagh
Eoghan McKeever Castle Castle
0930 11 1203 Stephen McCarthy Black Bush Black Bush
Conor Coyne Youghal Youghal
Karl McCormack Portarlington Portarlington
0939 12 1212 Jordan Hood Galgorm Castle Galgorm Castle
Michael Ryan New Ross New Ross
Dean Cafferty Carton House Carton House
0948 13 1221 Eoghan O'Donovan Craddockstown Craddockstown
Peter McKeever Castle Castle
Alex Doyle Bray Bray
0957 14 1230 Sean Maloney Dunmurry Springs Dunmurry Springs
Conor Purcell Portmarnock Portmarnock
Gavin Fitzmaurice Balcarrick Balcarrick
1006 15 1239 Alex Gleeson Castle Castle
Neil McKinstry Cairndhu Cairndhu
Gerard MacNamara Portmarnock Portmarnock
1015 16 1248 Matthew McClean Balmoral Balmoral
Kieran Lynch Skibbereen & West Carbery Skibbereen & West Carbery
Jack Howard Fota Island Fota Island
1024 17 1257 Johannes Diederichs Germany Germany
Iain Collins Bray Bray
Jonathan Greer Greenisland Greenisland
1033 18 0800 Stuart Bleakley Shandon Park Shandon Park
Robert Browne Castle Castle
Jason Conway Donegal Donegal
1042 19 0809 Blane Lynch Ballinrobe Ballinrobe
Colin Woodroofe Blainroe Blainroe
Luke Cummins West Waterford West Waterford
1051 20 0818 Darragh Hogan Killeen Castle Killeen Castle
Harry Scott Castle Castle
Jack Doherty Westmanstown Westmanstown
1100 21 0827 Dan Cummins Co. Meath Co. Meath
Daniel Cosgrove Kilcock Kilcock
Darragh Conlon Athenry Athenry
1109 22 0836 Marc Nolan Delgany Delgany
Luke Robinson Bundoran Bundoran
David Brazil Castle Barna Castle Barna
1118 23 0845 Cian Dullaghan Greenore Greenore
Ross Dutton Tandragee Tandragee
Mark Power Kilkenny Kilkenny
1127 24 0854 Tommy O'Driscoll Ring Of Kerry Ring Of Kerry
James O'Meara Slievenamon Slievenamon
Dale Jackson Hilton Templepatrick Hilton Templepatrick
1136 25 0903 Andrew Magee Powerscourt Powerscourt
Ross McKeever Castle Castle
Eric Byrne Birr Birr
1145 26 0912 Alec Myles Newlands Newlands
Oisin Devereux Carton House Carton House
Lee O'Meara Castle Barna Castle Barna
1154 27 0921 Craig Melvin Corrstown Corrstown
Conor Keown Greystones Greystones
Gareth Carr Mullingar Mullingar
1203 28 0930 David Foy Laytown & Bettystown Laytown & Bettystown
Michael Abram Cairndhu Cairndhu
Conor Slevin New Forest New Forest
1212 29 0939 Stephen Watts Cairndhu Cairndhu
Sean O'Connor Carton House Carton House
Eoin J O'Brien Clontarf Clontarf
1221 30 0948 Keagan Cummings Elm Park Elm Park
Marc McKinstry Cairndhu Cairndhu
Dan Hinds City of Derry City of Derry
1230 31 0957 Ryan McKinstry Cairndhu Cairndhu
Jamie Fletcher Warrenpoint Warrenpoint
Eoin Cantwell Kilkenny Kilkenny
1239 32 1006 Evan Farrell Ardee Ardee
Matthew McGowan Ballybofey & Stranorlar Ballybofey & Stranorlar
Jack Blake Forrest Little. Forrest Little.
1248 33 1015 James Lindsay North West North West
Brian Crowdle Kilkenny Kilkenny
Christopher Morgan Dunmurry Dunmurry
1257 34 1024 Niall Foley The Island The Island
Ryan Long Cairndhu Cairndhu
Eoin Kelly Co. Meath Co. Meath