In-form McClean hits the front at Leinster Youths

Matthew McClean (Balmoral) on the 15th at the East of Ireland at Baltray, 1st June 2014. Picture: Thos Caffrey /

Balmoral's Matthew McClean took up from where he left off in the Irish Amateur Close last week when he opened with super 69 to take a one stroke lead in the Sigma Wireless sponsored Leinster Youths Amateur Open at Esker Hills.

Tied for third in the strokeplay qualifying at Seapoint before losing to eventual champion John-Ross Galbraith at the 19th in the first round, McClean had three birdies and dropped just one shot to lead by a stoke from Newlands' Jake Whelan on two under par. Details scoring 

Youghal's Conor Coyne did brilliantly to card a level par 71 after taking a triple bogey seven at the fourth while home favourite Alan Lowry is lurking on one over after a 72 that could have been even better but for a double bogey six at the 17th.

Leinster Youths Amateur Open Championship sponsored by Sigma Wireless

Round 1 PAR 71 SSS 72  CSS 75

69 Matthew McClean (Balmoral)

70 Jake Whelan (Newlands)

71 Conor Coyne (Youghal)

72 Alan Lowry (Esker Hills)

73 John Cleary (Elm Park), Ryan McKinstry (Cairndhu), Alex Gleeson (Castle)

74 Matthew Kane (Whitehead), Ronan Mullarney (Galway), Rory Williamson (Holywood), Marc Boucher (Carton House), Liam Harnett (Milltown), Stephen Kinch (Hollystown)

75 Jordan Hood (Galgorm Castle), Iain Collins (Bray), Cameron Raymond (Newlands), Blane Lynch (Ballinrobe), Paul McCarthy (Mallow), Ross Dutton (Tandragee), Marc Nolan (Delgany)

76 Dan Hinds (City of Derry), Daniel Cosgrove (Kilcock), Gary Ward (Kinsale), Marc McKinstry (Cairndhu), Lee O'Meara (Castle Barna), Ryan Long (Cairndhu), Matthew McGowan (Ballybofey & Stranorlar), Tommy O'Driscoll (Ring Of Kerry), Mark Kerrigan (Old Conna)

77 Niall Foley (The Island), Eoin Kelly (Co. Meath), Peter Henry (Fintona), Jack McDonnell (Forrest Little.), Jack Blake (Forrest Little.), Kieran Lynch (Skibbereen & West Carbery), Robbie Pierse (Grange), Luke Robinson (Bundoran), Paul Kelly (Glasson), David Foy (Laytown & Bettystown), Eoin J O'Brien (Clontarf), Keagan Cummings (Elm Park), Conor Harte (Castle)

78 Stephen Watts (Cairndhu), Peter McKeever (Castle), Christopher Morgan (Dunmurry), Gareth Carr (Mullingar), Cathal Butler (Kinsale), Daire Creavin (Killeen Castle)

79 Eoghan O'Donovan (Craddockstown), Gareth Mann (Tullamore), Sean Maloney (Dunmurry Springs), Cian Dullaghan (Greenore)

80 Andrew Magee (Powerscourt), Evan Farrell (Ardee), Alastair McQuillan (Cushendall), Robert Browne (Castle), Daniel O'Connor (Athlone), Adam Kerr (Loughgall), Luke Cummins (West Waterford), Dean Cafferty (Carton House), Dominic Pollock (Belvoir Park), Darragh Fitzgerald (Limerick)

81 Mark Power (Kilkenny), Jack Solan (Rathsallagh), Craig Melvin (Corrstown), Eoghan Collins (Laytown & Bettystown), Darragh Conlon (Athenry), Conor Slevin (New Forest), Harry Scott (Castle), Sean O'Connor (Carton House), Keith Murphy (Charlesland), Michael Abram (Cairndhu), Declan Kelly (Hermitage)

82 Rob Brazill (Naas), Edward Kennedy (Woodbrook), Oisin Devereux (Carton House), Stephen McCarthy (Black Bush), Eric Byrne (Birr), Darragh Hogan (Killeen Castle), Dylan Brophy (Castleknock)

83 Jason Conway (Donegal), James Lindsay (North West), Eoin Cantwell (Kilkenny)

84 Alex Doyle (Bray), Gavin Fitzmaurice (Balcarrick)

85 Jack Doherty (Westmanstown), Mike Manweiler - Quinn (Bray), Jamie Foley (Letterkenny), Eoghan McKeever (Castle)

86 Barry Fitzpatrick (Castle), Max Thallon (Bangor), Colin Woodroofe (Blainroe), Sean Cummins (Westmanstown)

87 Jonathan Yates (Naas), Sean Lane (Mitchelstown)

88 Ronan Hall (United Arab Emirates)

89 Dan Cummins (Co. Meath)

90 David Travers (Carton House)

91 Gerard MacNamara (Portmarnock)

DQ Louis O'Hara (Athenry), Alec Myles (Newlands)