Mulhall one clear at Esker Hills
Esker Hills

Esker Hills

Ardglass' Adam Mulhall fired five birdies in a three under 68 to lead by a stroke from Newlands' Jake Whelan after the opening round of the Leinster Youths Amateur Open at Esker Hills.

Mulhall birdied the first, bogeyed the fifth but then racked up a hat-trick of birdies at the seventh, eighth and ninth to turn in 33 before coming home in level par with a bogey at the par-three 13th cancelled out by a birdie at the par-five 16th.

Whelan had six birdies in his 69 while Naas' Ron Brazil the only other player to break par as he posted a one-under 70.

Leinster Youths Amateur Open Championship, Esker Hills Golf Club (Par 71 CSS 73)

Round 1

68 Adam Mulhall (Ardglass)

69 Jake Whelan (Newlands)

70 Rob Brazill (Naas)

71 Ross Steedman (Courtown)

72 Marc Norton (Belvoir Park), Jack Blake (The Island), Matthew Grehan (Tullamore), James McVicker (Knock)

73 Ross Dutton (Tandragee), Alex Doyle (Bray), Rory Williamson (Holywood), Ted Harman (Balmoral), Andrew Hickey (Ballyhaunis), Thomas Beaumont (Bangor)

74 Jack Walsh (Castle), Sean Burke (Galway), Niall Hearns (Mountrath), Dale Jackson (Massereene), Cathal Butler (Kinsale), Colin Woodroofe (Blainroe), Robert Moran (Castle)

75 Ronan O'Callaghan (Mannan Castle), John Cleary (Elm Park), Jamie Fletcher (Warrenpoint), Cathal Nolan (Galway), Shane Kearney (Esker Hills), Andrew Mulhall (Waterford Castle), William Small (Tandragee)

76 Andrew Mulholland (Castlerock), Jason Conway (Donegal), Jack McDonnell (Forrest Little.), Shane O'Connor (Castlebar), Jason Murphy (Greenore), Karl McCormack (Portarlington)

77 Peter Kerr (Royal Portrush), Christopher Rabbette (Esker Hills), Liam Grehan (Mullingar), Paddy Culhane (Galway), Ted Collins (Dun Laoghaire), Alec Myles (Newlands), Luke Donnelly (Kilkenny), Andrew Magee (Powerscourt), Dominic Pollock (Belvoir Park)

78 Adam McCormick (Scrabo), Cillian Moloney (Fota Island), Mark Healy (Kinsale), Sean Walsh (Carton House), Barry Howlin (The Heritage), Brian Jnr Fehily (Newlands), Stefan Greenberg (Tandragee), Neil McKinstry (Cairndhu)

79 Joseph O Neill (Tralee), Sam Sweeney (USA), A.J. McCabe (Malahide), Simon Irwin (Holywood), Cameron Mills (Shandon Park), Bill Murray (Waterford Castle), Sean Rooney (Fortwilliam), Brendan Lawlor (Ardee), Adam McSweeney (Douglas), Peter Henry (Fintona)

80 Harry Duggan (Kilkenny), Peter McKeever (Castle), Gary Ward (Kinsale), Ben Murray (Castle), Kevin Moran (Castle), Michael Ryan (New Ross), John McCarthy (Stackstown), Charlie Dawson (Tramore)

81 Jack Tuohy (Galway Bay), Oisin Fleming (Dun Laoghaire), Gareth Hogan (The Island), Dylan Brophy (Castleknock)

82 Craig Bolger (Carlow), Gabriel Gribben (Fortwilliam), Jack O'Donnell (Westport), John Molyneaux (Ballybunion)

83 Hugh Foley (The Royal Dublin), Mark McKenna (Dun Laoghaire), Ross Murphy-Sweeney (Glasson), Zachariah Glynn (Bray), Jamie Dunne (Borris), Timothy Broderick (Kinsale), Adam Penrose (Balcarrick)

84 Ciaran Smyth (Greenore), Brian Doran (Baltinglass), Kevin Power (Kilkenny), Colm Hughes (Galway), Ben Graham (Knock), Lorcan O'Sullivan (The Heritage), Daragh Coleman (The Island)

85 Cathal Hastings (Castlebar), Conor Harte (Castle), Ryan Sheerin (Tullamore)

86 Dara Phelan (Faithlegg), Evan Hollowed (Newlands), Gareth Carr (Mullingar)

88 Alastair McQuillan (Cushendall)

89 Robert Downes (Galway Bay), Cillian Byrne (Bray)

DQ Christopher Taylor (Kanturk)

WD Max Thallon (Bangor)