French ace Foulquie heads Irish Boys

Paul Foulquie. Picture © Alexis Orloff / FFGolf

Frenchman Paul Foulquie leads the way after day one of the Irish Boys Amateur Open Championship at Thurles, one shot clear of Athlone's Sean Doyle on a day of solid scoring, writes the GUI.

In total, 12 players broke par with a further eight players shooting level par, and all will feel they are well positioned heading into round two.

Starting at the 10th, Foulquie bogeyed the short 11th, but hit back with a birdie at the next and followed that with another at the1 16th.

Although he dropped a shot at the treacherous par-four 17th, he birdied the 18th and then hit his stride as he turned, picking up shots at the first, fifth, sixth and ninth, offset by a bogey six at the eighth.

Athlone's Doyle had also started at the 10th, and he too had to come back from an early bogey - at his third - before picking up shots at the 13th and 18th to turn one under.

Three more birdies followed at the long first, short fifth and long eighth, offset by a solitary bogey at the index-one second hole.

The entire field will play two more rounds before a cut to 50 and ties for the final round on Friday.

Two-time Irish Under 15 Boys champion Kevin Le Blanc, favoured by many as the leader of the home challenge, got off to a solid start with a round of 72.

Irish Boys Amateur Open Championship, Thurles Golf Club

Round 1 – Tuesday 24th June 2014 (Par - 72; CSS – 72)

68 Paul Foulquie (France)

69 Sean Doyle (Athlone)

70 Bradley Moore (England), David Brady (Co. Sligo), Laird Shepherd (England), Shane McDermott (Co. Cavan)

71 Thomas Murray (England), Rob Brazill (Naas), Harry Hall (England), Owen Crooks (Bushfoot), Rowan Lester (Hermitage), Rory Hill (Tralee)

72 William Enefer (England), Kyle Harman (Wales), Mark MacGrath (Limerick), Kevin Le Blanc (The Island), Thomas Mulligan (Laytown & Bettystown), Thomas Jordan (England), Colm Hughes (Galway), Jonathan Thomson (England)

73 Ross Murray (Castle), Jack Brown (The Heath), Patrick Brennan (Belvoir Park), Thomas Thurloway (England), Niall Kennedy (Tramore), Ross Mohan (The Island), Jamie Li (England), Jamie Fletcher (Warrenpoint), Anton Brennan (Athenry), Robert Shaw (England)

74 Antoin Auboin (France), Ronan O'Callaghan (Mannan Castle), Jonathan Doherty (Ballina), Robert Browne (Castle), Gavin Fitzmaurice (Balcarrick), Eoghan Collins (Laytown & Bettystown), David Hill (Roscommon), Quentin Saintillan (France), David Carey (Carton House), Sean Walsh (Carton House), Jack Healy (Westport), Ryan Long (Cairndhu), Conor Mooney (Black Bush), Ciaran Smyth (Greenore)

75 Gaelen Trew (South Africa), Scott Campbell (Greenacres), Paul Margolis (France), Dean Cafferty (Carton House), Ross Steedman (Courtown), Cian Feeney (Co. Sligo), Alan Fahy (Bray), Michael Ryan (New Ross), Gareth Carr (Mullingar), Bruce Lancaster (Netherlands), Peter Kerr (Royal Portrush), Gabriel Naveau (France), Michael Joseph Kennelly (Athenry), Marc Norton (Belvoir Park), Alistair Crunden (England), Jack Howard (Fota Island), Marc Boucher (Carton House), Eric Byrne (Birr), Conor Purcell (Portmarnock), Bill Murray (Waterford Castle), Cathal Butler (Kinsale), Shane Mc Gagh (Claremorris), Alan Riordan (Blarney), Tommy O'Driscoll (Ring Of Kerry)

76 Eoin O'Hehir (Naas), Andrew Mulholland (Castlerock), Ross McKeever (Castle), Jamie Dunne (Borris), David Burns (Cushendall), Gary Ward (Kinsale), Glenn Fry (Greystones), Matthew Fitzsimons (Ardglass), Marc McKinstry (Cairndhu), Darragh Smith (Castle), Oisin Devereux (Carton House), Michael Cooke (Waterford)

77 Clement Charmasson (France), Marc McCormack (Ashbourne), Joshua Taylor (England), Andrew Magee (Powerscourt), Eoin Leonard (Wentworth), Conor Flanagan (Tullamore), Max Jordan (England), Paul Tobin (Cork), Harry Boyle (England), Eoin Cunnife (United Arab Emirates), Daniel List (Ghana), David Travers (Carton House), Valentin Leblanc (France)

78 Charlie Hendrick (Grange), Rory Murphy (Dun Laoghaire), Karl Eccles (Clandeboye), Conor Harte (Castle), John Gough (England), Cian Hutchinson (Carton House), Adonis Asikian (France), Dale Jackson (Hilton Templepatrick), James McVicker (Knock), Jason O'Reilly (Tramore), Cathal Nolan (Galway), John Bolger (Jnr) (Courtown), Paul Kelly (Glasson), Philip O'Sullivan (Malone), Ben Murray (Castle)

79 Luke Donnelly (Callan), Thomas Boulanger (France), Felix Alnefelt (Sweden), TJ Ford (Co. Sligo), Eric Rumley (Kinsale), Eoin Kelly (Co. Meath), Declan Kelly (Hermitage), Joseph O'Neill (Tralee), Jack Davidson (Wales)

80 Fergus McCambridge (Cushendall), Michael Cooke (England), Edward Kennedy (Woodbrook), Peter Cummins (Lurgan), John Cleary (Elm Park), Nick Moore (Monkstown), Daire Creavin (Killeen Castle), Barry Fitzpatrick (Castle), Jonas Eisold (Germany), Garreth Hogan (St. Anne's), Adam McCormick (Scrabo), Michael Shiel (Loughrea), Ted Collins (Dun Laoghaire), Jack Hermeston (England)

81 Peter Fleming (Galway), Haider Hussein (England), Luke Cummins (West Waterford), Sean O'regan (Edmondstown), John Corbett Jnr (Thurles)

82 Lucas Koehler (Germany), Harry Walsh (Waterford Castle), Ryan Lumsden (Scotland), Thomas Bailey (England), Aaron Ryan (Thurles)

83 Sam Sweeney (Seapoint), Liam Grehan (Mullingar), Jason Conway (Donegal), Harry Duggan (Kilkenny), Cameron Mills (Shandon Park)

84 Jack Dempsey (Newbridge), Craig Bolger (Carlow), Michael Culhane (Limerick), Gabriel Leacy (Dungarvan)

85 Louis O'Hara (Athenry)

86 Darren Hall (United Arab Emirates), Shane O'Connor (Castlebar)

87 Greg Smith (England)

88 Mark Healy (Bandon)

89 Sean Bartlett (Wales)