Ward crashes out of West

Irish international Simon Ward crashed to a shock first round defeat in the West of Ireland Championship at Rosses Point.

The former South of Ireland champion was beaten on the 18th by Colin Cunningham of Carton House after a titanic struggle.

With conditions close to perfect after three days of gale force winds, Ward fought back from three down after nine to level the match thanks to birdies at the 12th, 14th and 17th.

But Cunningham clinched a surprise victory on the 18th when he holed a 25 footer for birdie.

Elsewhere, the Island's Robert McCarthy saw off the challenge of Conor Doran by 2 and 1 while Eddie McCormack and Mick Lavelle cruised to 7 and 6 wins over Gary McGloin and Ger Lawlor

West of Ireland Amateur Open, Rosses Point
First round
(Top half)
07.00hrs James Fox (Portmarnock) beat Ger Hall (Edenderry) 2 holes
07.08hrs Robert McCarthy (The Island) beat Conor Doran (Banbridge) 2/1
07.16hrs Eddie McCormack (Galway) beat Gary McGloin (Bundoran) 7/6
07.24hrs Niall Kearney (Royal Dublin) beat Robert J. Cannon (Laytown & Bettystown) 4/3
07.32hrs Michael Lavelle (K Club) beat Gerard Lawlor (City west) 7/6
07.40hrs Ian Winstanley (Formby, UK) beat Eoin Arthurs (Forrest Little) 1 Hole
07.48hrs Alex McCloy (Ballymena) beat Dave O’Donovan (Muskerry) 2/1
07.56hrs Colin Cunningham (Carton House) bt Simon Ward (Co. Louth) 1 up
08.04hrs James Monaghan (The Island) beat Ronan Maher (Nenagh) 7/6
08.12hrs Niall Gorey (Lee Valley) beat Jack Senior (Heysham, UK) 5/4
08.20hrs Ryan Boal (Castle) Vs Paul Buckley (Kanturk)
08.28hrs Joe Lyons (Galway) Vs Brendan Walton (The Island)
08.36hrs Mark Hemphill (Portstewart) Vs Barry Cashman (Belvoir Park)
08.44hrs Darren Crowe (Dunmurry) Vs Andrew McCormick (Scrabo)
08.52hrs Stephen Webster (Castle) Vs Nicky Grant (Knock)
09.00hrs Shane Lowry (Esker Hills) vs Michael Durcan (Co. Sligo)

(Bottom half)
09.08hrs Jonathan Hurst (Shawhill, UK) vs Pat Killeen (Claremorris)
09.16hrs Alan Harrington (Cork) Vs Russell Durnin (Laytown & Bettystown)
09.24hrs Gary McDermott (Co. Sligo) Vs Wayne McCully (Donaghadee)
09.32hrs Ben Jones (Cuddington, UK) Vs Thomas Neenan (Lahinch)
09.40hrs Andrew Hogan (Newlands) vs Harry Diamond (Holywood)
09.48hrs David Finn (Mallow) vs David Scully (Galway)
09.56hrs Paul O’Hanlon (Curragh) vs Billy Fowles (Wentworth, UK)
10.04hrs Aengus McAllister (The International, USA) Vs Brian Keenan (The Heath)
10.12hrs Paul Cutler (Portstewart) vs Eoin O’Sullivan (The Island)
10.20hrs David Sutton (Lockerbie, UK) vs Kelan McDonagh (Athlone)
10.28hrs Dara Lernihan (Castle) vs Michael Sinclair (Knock)
10.36hrs Stephen Crowe (Dunmurry) vs J. P. Hughes (Douglas)
10.44hrs Cian Curley (Newlands) vs Philip Purdy (Shandon Park)
10.52hrs Alan Harty (West Waterford) vs Derek Downie (Sutton)
11.00hrs Rory Leonard (Banbridge) vs Ciaran O’Connor (Athlone)
11.08hrs Kevin Stack (Dungarvan/UCC) vs Desmond Morgan (Mullingar)