Ward and Crowe exit as Lyons goes through

Internationals Simon Ward and Darren Crowe crashed out in the first round of the West of Ireland Championship at Rosses Point.

Ward was beaten by one hole by Colin Cunningham of Carton House as Crowe lost on the 18th to Andrew McCormick.

With conditions close to perfect after three days of gale force winds, Ward fought back from three down after nine to level the match thanks to birdies at the 12th, 14th and 17th.

But Cunningham clinched a surprise victory on the 18th when he holed a 25 footer for birdie.

Title favourite Shane Lowry cruise to a 4 and 2 win over local hope Michael Durcan as defending champion Joe Lyons survived a final hole scare to beat Brendan Walton by one hole.

A nephew of Ryder Cup star Philip, Walton hit the back of the hole with a putt to send the match into tie holes but watched in agony as it stayed out.

Elsewhere, the Island's Robert McCarthy saw off the challenge of Conor Doran by 2 and 1 while Eddie McCormack and Mick Lavelle cruised to 7 and 6 wins over Gary McGloin and Ger Lawlor.

West of Ireland Amateur Open, Rosses Point
Round 2 draw
12.00hrs James Fox (Portmarnock) vs Robert McCarthy (The Island)
12.10hrs Eddie McCormack (Galway) vs Niall Kearney (Royal Dublin)
12.20hrs Michael Lavelle (K Club) vs Ian Winstanley (Formby, UK)
12.30hrs Alex McCloy (Ballymena) vs Colin Cunningham (Carton House)
12.40hrs James Monaghan (The Island) vs Niall Gorey (Lee valley)
12.50hrs Ryan Boal (Castle) vs Joe Lyons (Galway)
13.00hrs Barry Cashman (Belvoir Park) vs Andrew McCormick (Scrabo)
13.15hrs Nicky Grant (Knock) vs Shane Lowry (Esker Hills)

Round 1
(Top half)
07.00hrs James Fox (Portmarnock) beat Ger Hall (Edenderry) 2 Holes
07.08hrs Robert McCarthy (The Island) beat Conor Doran (Banbridge) 2/1
07.16hrs Eddie McCormack (Galway) beat Gary McGloin (Bundoran) 7/6
07.24hrs Niall Kearney (Royal Dublin) beat Robert J. Cannon (Laytown & Bettystown) 4/3
07.32hrs Michael Lavelle (K Club) beat Gerard Lawlor (City west) 7/6
07.40hrs Ian Winstanley (Formby, UK) beat Eoin Arthurs (Forrest Little) 1 Hole
07.48hrs Alex McCloy (Ballymena) beat Dave O’Donovan (Muskerry) 2/1
07.56hrs Colin Cunningham (Carton House) beat Simon Ward (Co. Louth) 1 Hole
08.04hrs James Monaghan (The Island) beat Ronan Maher (Nenagh) 7/6
08.12hrs Niall Gorey (Lee Valley) beat Jack Senior (Heysham, UK) 5/4
08.20hrs Ryan Boal (Castle) beat Paul Buckley (Kanturk) 1 Hole
08.28hrs Joe Lyons (Galway) beat Brendan Walton (The Island) 1 Hole
08.36hrs Barry Cashman (Belvoir Park) beat Mark Hemphill (Portstewart) 2/1
08.44hrs Andrew McCormick (Scrabo) beat Darren Crowe (Dunmurry) 1 Hole
08.52hrs Nicky Grant (Knock) beat Stephen Webster (Castle) 3/2
09.00hrs Shane Lowry (Esker Hills) beat Michael Durcan (Co. Sligo) 4/3
09.08hrs Jonathan Hurst (Shawhill, UK) beat Pat Killeen (Claremorris) 7/5
09.16hrs Alan Harrington (Cork) Vs Russell Durnin (Laytown & Bettystown)
09.24hrs Gary McDermott (Co. Sligo) Vs Wayne McCully (Donaghadee)
09.32hrs Ben Jones (Cuddington, UK) Vs Thomas Neenan (Lahinch)
09.40hrs Andrew Hogan (Newlands) vs Harry Diamond (Holywood)
09.48hrs David Finn (Mallow) vs David Scully (Galway)
09.56hrs Paul O’Hanlon (Curragh) vs Billy Fowles (Wentworth, UK)
10.04hrs Aengus McAllister (The International, USA) Vs Brian Keenan (The Heath)
10.12hrs Paul Cutler (Portstewart) vs Eoin O’Sullivan (The Island)
10.20hrs David Sutton (Lockerbie, UK) vs Kelan McDonagh (Athlone)
10.28hrs Dara Lernihan (Castle) vs Michael Sinclair (Knock)
10.36hrs Stephen Crowe (Dunmurry) vs J. P. Hughes (Douglas)
10.44hrs Cian Curley (Newlands) vs Philip Purdy (Shandon Park)
10.52hrs Alan Harty (West Waterford) vs Derek Downie (Sutton)
11.00hrs Rory Leonard (Banbridge) vs Ciaran O’Connor (Athlone)
11.08hrs Kevin Stack (Dungarvan/UCC) vs Desmond Morgan (Mullingar)