Twins sensations Lisa and Leona Maguire have been name in the Great Britain & Ireland preliminary squad for the next year's Vagliano Trophy matches.

The Ballyconnell prodigies, who turn 14 on November 30, are joined in the 26-strong squad by Irish team mates Danielle McVeigh, Tara Delaney and Niamh Kitching.

Tipped as world stars of the future, the Maguires have had a sensational season on the amateur circuit.

Leona is the current Irish women's amateur champion, having beaten Lisa in the final while Lisa is the Irish girls’ champion and won this year's European Junior Masters' girls' championship, beating Leona into second place.

Their Masters’ performances earned them both automatic selection for Europe in the Junior Ryder Cup match against the United States last month.

The LGU stresses that, although 26 squad players have been named, there is nothing to stop other players from competing in the designated tournaments with a view to forcing their way into the Vagliano Trophy team of nine players and two reserves.

Irish legend Mary McKenna will skipper the side to face the Continent of Europe in Germany next July and is aiming to overturn the Continentals’ record-margin win in the last Vagliano Trophy match at the Fairmont St Andrews in 2007.

She said: “I am really delighted with this squad.  It is great to see so many new names on the list, a great mix of youth and experience.  This will make for a lot of exciting golf early next year in the lead up to selection at the British Ladies Amateur Championship.”
The breakdown of the nationalities of the 2009 squad is: English 9, Scottish 8, Irish 5, Welsh 4.
(In alphabetical order)
1 Hannah Barwood (ENG) (Knowle).
2 Liz Bennett (ENG) (Brokenhurst Manor).
3 Carly Booth (SCO) (Comrie).
4 Amy Boulden (WAL) (Maesdu).
5 Hannah Burke (ENG) (Mid Herts)
6 Krystle Caithness (SCO) (St Regulus)
7 Tara Delaney (IRE) (Carlow)
8 Naomi Edwards (ENG) (Ganton)
9 Jodi Ewart (ENG) (Catterick)
10 Sahra Hassan (WAL) (Vale of Glamorgan)
11 Rachel Jennings (ENG) (Izaak Walton)
12 Niamh Kitching (IRE) (Claremorris)
13 Breanne Loucks (WAL) (Wrexham)
14 Kelsey MacDonald (SCO) (Nairn Dunbar)
15 Leona Maguire (IRE) (Slieve Russell)
16 Lisa Maguire (IRE) (Slieve Russell)
17 Danielle McVeigh (IRE) (Royal County Down)
18 Roseanna Niven (SCO) (Crieff)
19 Florentyna Parker (ENG) (Royal Birkdale)
20 Pamela Pretswell (SCO) (Bothwell Castle)
21 Kerry Smith (ENG) (Waterlooville)
22 Rhian Wyn Thomas (WAL) (Vale of Glamorgan)
23 Michele Thomson (SCO) (McDonald Ellon)
24 Kelly Tidy (ENG) (Royal Birkdale)
25 Kylie Walker (SCO) (Buchanan Castle)
26 Sally Watson (SCO) (Elie & Earlsferry Ladies)