Dawson finds record form with 64 at Rosses Point
Robin Dawson. Picture:  Pat Cashman

Robin Dawson. Picture: Pat Cashman

Tramore’s Robin Dawson stamped his authority on the Radisson Blu sponsored West of Ireland Amateur Open when he fired a championship record equalling 64 to take a three-stroke lead after the first qualifying round at Rosses Point.

The Irish international (22) dropped just one stroke in a cold northeast breeze, blasting an eagle and six birdies in a seven-under-par round that equalled the 64 carded by Co Sligo’s David Brady in the first qualifying round in 2014.

“My preparation wasn't ideal but I eventually got into a rhythm,” said a delighted Dawson, who only returned to Ireland from a holiday in Australia last Wednesday following an intensive early season schedule that took him from Argentina to South Africa and Qatar. 

“I actually played so badly in practice yesterday that I went to the range because I had no idea what was going on. But I found something this morning and away I went. I was nice to get a round under my belt.”

Dawson’s score didn’t count as a course record as the field did not play from the championship tees at the fifth or 10th.

Despite that, just ten players in the 126-strong field broke par and the cream rose to the top after the morning and afternoon waves had tackled the famed Co Sligo links.

Forrest Little’s Jack McDonnell (22) and Kilkenny’s Mark Power, the Irish Boys champion, are tied for second after four-under 67s with 2016 champion Jonathan Yates from Naas and North West’s Kyle McCarron posting 68s to share fourth spot.

Rosslare's Gary Collins. Picture:  Pat Cashman

Rosslare's Gary Collins. Picture: Pat Cashman

McDonnell only flew home from Bristol late on Thursday night after an unsuccessful trip to the first stage of the PGA Europro Tour’s Qualifying School.

But like Dawson, he found poor preparation no impediment to good play as he made two eagles and five birdies in his 67, covering his last nine holes—the back nine as he started on the first—in just 30 blows.

“I went to the Q-School just to test the waters but didn’t get through and then my flight was delayed,” said McDonnell, who won the Munster Youths at Monkstown Golf Club. 

“My plan is to play full-time golf this year and try and make the Irish team by finishing in the top-two in the new Bridgestone Order of Merit.” 

The top three scores came in the afternoon and Power (17) showed his unquestionable talent by making seven birdies in his four-under-par round.

Dawson started at the 15th and after holing good putts for birdies at the 16th and 18th, he followed a three-putt bogey at the second with a birdie-birdie-eagle run from the third with his shot of the day a 210-yard two-iron to 10 feet at the fifth setting up an eagle three.

He then closed out his day in style, hitting a nine-iron to 15 feet at the downwind 11th to set up a birdie before chipping to a foot from the perfect spot left of the par-five 12th.

Rosslare’s Gary Collins shot a one-under 70 in the morning wave to share the lead with Laytown and Bettystown’s Cian Geraghty and Portmarnock’s John Greene.

The temperature rose for the afternoon starters but despite that, the average score was 74.92 with Irish Amateur Open champion Peter O’Keeffe and top international Alex Gleeson from Castle —who lost a ball at the 12th—carding two-over 73s.

Defending champion Barry Anderson shot a level par 71 in the morning and he’s hopeful that he can become the first man since Rory McIlroy in 2006 to retain the title.

“It’s nice to be here as defending champion to just enjoy it and try to match Rory and win it back to back,” the Rosses Point native said. “A 71 was the worst I could have shot because I hit the ball very well in that cold northeast wind but didn’t make many putts.”

The leading 64 players after today’s second round will qualify for the first round of matchplay tomorrow.

West of Ireland Amateur Open (sponsored by Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa Sligo), County Sligo GC (Par 71)

Detailed scores

First round

64 R Dawson (Tramore);

67 J McDonnell (Forrest Little), M Power (Kilkenny);

68 J Yates (Naas), K McCarron (North West);

70 P McKeever (Castle), G Collins (Rosslare), T O’Connor (Athlone), C Geraghty (Laytown & Bettystown), J Greene (Portmarnock);

71 P Connolly (Killeen Castle), C Woodroofe (Dun Laoghaire), J McCarthy (Stackstown), R McKinstry (Cairndhu), R Black (Hilton Templepatrick), R O’Doherty (Enniscrone), B Anderson (The Royal Dublin);

72 A Maguire (Laytown & Bettystown), F Carr (Kirkistown Castle), J Walsh (Castle), A McCormack (Castletroy), T McLarnon (Massereene), G Fitzmaurice (Balcarrick), M Kennedy (The Royal Dublin), S Flanagan (Co. Sligo), R Brazill (Naas), L O'Neill (Connemara), D Morgan (Carton House), D Kitt (Athenry), G McDermott (Carton House), G Dunne (Co. Louth);

73 R Moran (Castle), C Dawson (Tramore), G Smyth (Clonmel), J Hapgood (Southerndown), A Kearney (Castlerock), R O'Connor (Co. Sligo), P O' Keeffe (Douglas), M Ryan (New Ross), T Ford (Co. Sligo), J Madden (Royal Portrush), C Denvir (Elm Park), F Kennedy (The Island), J Whelan (Newlands), W Russell (Clandeboye), J Fox (Portmarnock), J Fletcher (Warrenpoint), A Gleeson (Castle);

74 C Ryan (Dun Laoghaire), H Gillivan (Westport), M Sinclair (Knock), J Quinn (The Island), S Desmond (Monkstown), J Pierse (Portmarnock), D Mallon (Dungannon), W Small (Tandragee), B Best (Rathmore), J Byrne (Baltinglass), A Marshall (Lisburn);

75 N Hearns (Mountrath), S Carter (The Royal Dublin), E Farrell (Ardee), N McGrane (The Royal Dublin), R Knightly (The Royal Dublin), K Egan (Carton House), H Foley (The Royal Dublin), T Neenan (Lahinch), A Hill (Athenry), N Crawford (Mourne), M Nolan (Dun Laoghaire), A Lowry (Esker Hills), A McDaid (Palmerstown Stud), E McCormack (Galway Bay), S Cullen (Slieve Russell), J Logue (Hilton Templepatrick);

76 R Pierse (Grange), P O’Hanlon (Carton house ), R Williamson (Holywood), J Lyons (Galway), R McNeilis (Fintona), J Blake (The Island), D Brophy (Castleknock), R Hynes (The Royal Dublin), G Copeland (Ardglass);

77 B Shally (Dromoland), S Ryan (The Royal Dublin), I Kettyle (Rathmore ), D McAleenon (Edenmore), M Shiel (Galway Bay), K McCormack (Portarlington), J Brady (Rosslare), S Barker (Mourne), J Knipe (Royal Portrush ),  J Doherty (Carton House),  J Timlin (Dungannon),  T Coffey (Slieve Russell),  S Mc Dermott (Co. Cavan);    

78 G Lenehan (Portmarnock), R Berkeley (Dun Laoghaire), D Brady (Co. Sligo), M Morrissey (Co. Sligo), C Daly (Castletroy), R Kelly (Galway Bay), S O’Connor (Castlebar), O Maguire (Slieve Russell), P Murray (Clontarf);

79 P Coughlan (Castleknock), P Kelly (Co. Armagh), G McGrane (The Royal Dublin), M Kennelly (Galway Bay), J O'Leary (Dromoland), P Buckley (Memorial (Tx) USA), J McVicker (Knock), S Underwood (Co. Sligo);

80 A Gaynor (Co. Sligo), A Hickey (Ballyhaunis), S Carter (The Heritage), G McKenna (Donaghadee);

81 B Daly (Edmondstown), C Feeney (Co. Sligo), M Looby (Greystones);

82 J Murphy (Greenore), D Reddan Jnr (Nenagh);

83 S Garrett (Portstewart);

84 D O’Neill (Carton House), P Flynn (Tramore).