McIlroy starts well in Indiana; Hoey shoots 69 in KLM Open
Ben Evans. Picture: Getty Images

Ben Evans. Picture: Getty Images

Rory McIlroy continued his hot streak of form in the FedEx Cup playoffs when he made four birdies in a bogey in his first 10 holes to move into the top 10 in the weather delayed BMW Championship at Crooked Stick.

The Ulsterman is tied for 10th on three under par, four strokes behind early leader Roberto Castro (65) who leads by one from Brian Harman. 

Graeme McDowell, who needs a top five finish to make the top 30 who qualify for the season-ending Tour Championship, finds himself tied for 51st after a one over 73.

The former US Open winner began with 12 consecutive pars, then followed a fine birdie two at the 13th with a double bogey six at the 16th, where he hit his approach from the left rough into the lake that protects the green.

On the Tour, Seamus Power shot a level par 70 to share 42nd into weather-delayed DAP Championship in Ohio where Bobby Wyatt leads by one from Bryson DeChambeau with a seven under 63.   

In the KLM Open at The Dutch, Dutch amateur Rowin Caron grabbed the headlines with a five under par 66 giving the 23-year old a share of second place, just one stroke behind Englishman Ben Evans.

Caron is in exalted company, with former Ryder Cup player Peter Hanson joined by European Tour winners Ben An and Bernd Wiesberger, as well as Chris Hanson, Mikko Korhonen and Joakim Lagergren on five under.

Michael Hoey, who is 182nd in the Race to Dubai and in danger of losing his card. shot a 69 to share 32nd on two under.

Paul Dunne had 34 putts in a two over 74 as Peter Lawrie signed four a four over 76.

Round one scores

65 B Evans(Eng),

66 C Hanson (Eng), N Bertasio (Ita), B Wiesberger(Aut), P Hanson (Swe), B An (Kor), J Lagergren (Swe), M Korhonen (Fin), R Caron (am) (Ned),

67 M Foster (Eng), M Manassero (Ita), O Fisher(Eng), T Fleetwood(Eng), R Bland (Eng), M Baldwin (Eng), N Srithong (Tha), D Horsey (Eng), S Hend (Aus), A Cañizares(Esp), R Jacquelin (Fra),

68 S Jamieson(Sco), T Van Der Walt (RSA), B Rumford (Aus), F Zanotti (Par), J Carlsson (Swe), S Chawrasia (Ind), J Robinson (Eng), S Lee (Kor), R Langasque(Fra), S Khan (Eng), M Lorenzo-Vera(Fra),

69 A Noren(Swe), L Haotong (Chn), J Roos (RSA), J Luiten (Ned), R Karlsson (Swe), P Meesawat(Tha), M Carlsson(Swe), S Benson (Eng), R Gonzalez (Arg), N Elvira(Esp), R McEvoy(Eng), S Webster (Eng), Micahel Hoey(Nir), B Åkesson (Swe), G Storm(Eng), T Linard (Fra),

70 R Paratore (Ita), J Veerman (USA), D Gavins (Eng), M Kieffer (Ger), D Im (USA), R Fisher (Eng), P Larrazábal (Esp), J Campillo (Esp), L Bjerregaard(Den), J Walters (RSA), J Hansen(Den), J Fahrbring (Swe), F Aguilar (Chi), B Virto(Esp), D Burmester (RSA), E Pepperell (Eng), C Pigem Xammar (Esp), M Warren (Sco),

71 M Tabuena (Phi), M Lafeber (Ned), L Slattery (Eng), C Lee (Sco), R Davies (Wal), R Dinwiddie(Eng), R Van West  (Ned), T Detry(Bel), D Drysdale (Sco), D Dixon (Eng), L Nemecz (Aut), A Quiros(Esp), N Colsaerts(Bel), F Laporta (Ita), D Huizing (Ned), P Melching (am) (Ned),

72 E De La Riva(Esp), D Brooks (Eng), J Scrivener (Aus), R Kakko(Fin), G Havret(Fra), J Hahn (USA), M Madsen(Den), N Ravano (Ita), J Knutzon (USA), R Ramsay(Sco), S Manley (Wal), C Wood(Eng), O Bergqvist(Swe), U Van Den Berg(RSA), T Pilkadaris (Aus), T Jaidee (Tha), J Hugo(RSA), A Levy (Fra), M Southgate(Eng), B Stone (RSA), R Wattel(Fra), L Jensen (Den),

73 A McArthur(Sco), W Besseling(Ned), R Evans(Eng), B Hebert(Fra), A Otaegui(Esp), T Lewis (Eng), F Fritsch(Ger), N Fasth (Swe), J Winther (Den), M Kraaij(Ned), S Gallacher (Sco), L Canter (Eng), P Edberg (Swe), M Fraser (Aus), T Fisher Jnr (RSA), M Ilonen(Fin), D Fichardt (RSA), P Bootsma (am) (Ned),

74 J Jeong (Kor), H Porteous (RSA), S Gros (Fra), J Parry (Eng), J McLeary(Sco), R McGowan(Eng), Paul Dunne (Irl), T Remkes (Ned), Y Yang (Kor), M Siem(Ger), C Shinkwin (Eng),

75 W De Vries (Ned), E Molinari(Ita), M Ford (Eng), D Howell (Eng), J Singh (Ind), G Boyd(Eng),

76 G Coetzee (RSA), R Miller (Ned), C Kumar (Ind), Peter Lawrie (Irl), R Green (Aus), M Bosch (Ned), R Lee (Can), S Dyson(Eng), A Dodt (Aus), A De Bondt (am) (Bel), L Van Meijel (am) (Ned),

77 O Wilson (Eng), T Merkx (Ned),

78 D Van Den Dungen(Ned), J Busby (Eng), N Holman(Aus), V Van Veen (am) (Ned)