Irish Women's Close: Stars collide at Lahinch
Lahinch. Picture via  @IrishLadiesGolf

Lahinch. Picture via @IrishLadiesGolf

Curtis Cup stars Olivia Mehaffey and Maria Dunne are on a potential quarter-final collision course in the Irish Women’s Close at Lahinch.

All the big guns made it into the last 16 in brilliant sunshine with Mehaffey’s 8 and 7 win over Lahinch’s Linda Toomey setting up a last 16 showdown Killarney starlet Mairead Martin.

Dunne beat Roscrea’s Clodagh Jones 7 and 5 and now faces Castlewarden’s Lauren Walsh with the winner taking on Mehaffey or Martin.

Leading qualifier and Leitrim Cup winner Sinead Sexton from Lahinch carried through her form to cruise through to the Championship match play after a resounding win over fellow home member Valerie Shannon.

Junior internationals Valerie Clancy (Killarney) and Lisa O’Shea (Shannon) battled it out but Clancy came out on top to progress to a last 16 clash with Douglas’ Sara Byrne.

The Heath’s Mary Doyle was down throughout the majority of the match but made a strong finish to hold off Carlow’s Aedin Murphy.

Great play from Munster competitors Paula Walsh (Doneraile), Sara Byrne (Douglas) and Sarah Cunningham (Ennis) saw them all come out on top, as well as in form Malone golfer Louise Coffey.

Chloe Ryan (Castletroy) continues to lead the way in the bottom half of the draw as she overcame local member Olivia Lucas on the 14th, after holing out for eagle 3. Shannon Burke (Ballinrobe) managed to overcome Catriona Griffin (Killarney) on the 19th and will face Ryan tomorrow morning. 

Tipperary native Aoife Lowry dominated her match against Orla Dunphy (Kilkenny) and will face Rachel Thompson (Cork). 

The 16 first round winners will now compete in the Championship match play and those who were unsuccessful in the first round are through to the Plate. 

Irish Women’s Close, Lahinch

Championship Match Play

  1. 8.30 Sinead Sexton (Lahinch) v Paula Walsh (Doneraile)
  2. 8.39 Valerie Clancy (Killarney) v Sara Byrne (Douglas)
  3. 8.48 Louise Coffey (Malone) v Mary Doyle (The Heath)
  4. 8.57 Sarah Cunningham (Ennis) v Georgia Carr (Milltown) 
  5. 9.06 Chloe Ryan (Castletroy) v Shannon Burke (Ballinrobe)
  6. 9.15 Aoife Lowry (Tipperary) v Rachel Thompson (Cork)
  7. 9.24 Maria Dunne (Skerries) v Lauren Walsh (Castlewarden)
  8. 9.33 Olivia Mehaffey (RCDL) v Mairead Martin (Killarney)

Round one

  1. Sinead Sexton (Lahinch) bt Valerie Shannon (Lahinch) 8/7
  2. Paula Walsh (Doneraile) bt Anne McCormack (Naas) 3/2
  3. Valerie Clancy (Killarney) bt Lisa O'Shea (Shannon) 2/1  
  4. Nicola Coffey (Woodbrook) lost to Sara Byrne (Douglas) 3/1 
  5. Louise Coffey (Malone) bt Gillian O'Leary (The Island) 3/2  
  6. Mary Doyle (The Heath) bt Aedin Murphy (Carlow) 1up  
  7. Sarah Cunningham (Ennis) bt Ellen O'Gorman (Milltown) 3/2 
  8. Niamh McSherry (Lurgan) lost to Georgia Carr (Milltown) 2/1
  9. Chloe Ryan (Castletroy) bt Olivia Lucas (Lahinch) 5/4       
  10. Catriona Griffin (Killarney) lost to Shannon Burke (Ballinrobe) on the 19th  
  11. Orla Dunphy (Kilkenny) lost to Aoife Lowry (Tipperary) 4/3     
  12. Rachel Thompson (Cork) bt Maeve Rooney (Co. Sligo) 3/2     
  13. Maria Dunne (Skerries) bt Clodagh Jones (Roscrea) 7/5 
  14. Lauren Walsh (Castlewarden) bt Elisa Corcoran (Grange) 4/3     
  15. Olivia Mehaffey (RCDL) bt Linda Toomey (Lahinch) 8/7     
  16. Mairead Martin (Killarney) bt Karen Delaney (Carlow) on the 19th

Irish Women’s Close – Plate Match Play


  1. Valerie Shannon (Lahinch) v Anne McCormack (Naas)
  2. Lisa O'Shea (Shannon) (W/O) 
  3. Gillian O'Leary (The Island) v Aedin Murphy (Carlow) 
  4. Ellen O'Gorman (Milltown) (W/O)
  5. Olivia Lucas (Lahinch) v Catriona Griffin (Killarney)
  6. Orla Dunphy (Kilkenny) v Maeve Rooney (Co. Sligo)
  7. Clodagh Jones (Roscrea) v Elisa Corcoran (Grange)
  8. Linda Toomey (Lahinch) v Karen Delaney (Carlow)