Wilson chasing hot Swedes at Roganstown

Lurgan’s Annabel Wilson is the best of the Irish after the opening day of the Irish Girls Open Stroke Play Championship at Roganstown. 

The 15 year old matched the par with a steady start of 71 as Killarney’s Valerie Clancy slipped up late in the day but still posted a 75 to lie just outside the top 20/

A 74 for Elisa Corcoran and 78s for Niamh McSherry and Mairead Martin were not quite what they were looking for either on a day when Sweden’s Sarah Kjelker shot a two under 69 to lead by one from compatriot Pi-lillebi Hermansson (70). 

Wilson share third place with Iceland’s Olof Einardottir and Celine Borge of Norway while Laytown and Bettystown’s Ellie Metcalfe, Roscrea’s Clodagh Jones, Grange’s Eilsa Corcoran and Douglas’ Sara Byrne are all capable of fireworks over the weekend. 

Sweden Team A lead the Nations Cup by 11 shots from England.

For all Championship information, including live scoring please follow this link: Irish Girls U18 Open Stroke Play Championship.

Round 1 Scores

69 Sara Kjellker (Sweden)

70 Pi-lillebi Hermansson (Sweden)

71 Annabel Wilson (Lurgan) Ólöf María  Einarsdóttir (Iceland) Celine Borge (Norway)

72 Ellen Hutchinson-Kay (Sweden) Mimi Rhodes (England) Anna-Maria Diederichs (Germany) Andrea Lignell (Sweden) Karoline Lund (Norway) Loїs Lau (France)

73 Linn Grant (Sweden) Sofia Lundell (Sweden) Chloe Frankish (England) Hannah Leonie Karg (Germany) Petronella Hjort (Sweden)

74 Elisa Corcoran (Grange) Jessica Hall (England) Johanna Wollenhaupt  (Germany) Hanna Ãhlander (Sweden) Louise Henningsson (Sweden)

75 Nicola Fall (Finland) Ingrid Lindblad (Sweden) Ellen Andersson (Sweden) Claire Robertson (Scotland) Valerie Clancy (Killarney)

76 Amelie Sigemar (Sweden) Joanne  Free (Scotland) Madelene Stavnar (Norway) Shannon Stevie McWilliam  (Scotland) Anna Foster (Elm Park) Maja Stark (Sweden), Caroline Zolg (Germany)

77 Rebecca Earl (England)

78 Rhian Barton (Wales) Maeve Rooney (Co. Sligo) Martha Lewis (England) Lauren Walsh (Castlewarden)

Lily Hürlimann (Germany) Niamh McSherry (Lurgan) Mairead Martin (Killarney) Katja Mueller (Germany) Nicola Wainwright (Wales)

79 Matilde Stenqvist (Sweden) Clodagh Jones (Roscrea)

80 Nicole McGavisk (Donabate) Christin Eisenbei (Germany) Maeve Cummins (Lurgan) Ellie Metcalfe (Laytown & Bettystown) Emma Adolfsson (Sweden) Magdalena Cervinkova (Czech Republic) Clodagh Walsh (Castlewarden)

81 Lorna McClymont (Scotland) Marietta Ruhl (Germany) Rebecca MacLaren (Wellingborough/Ireland) Tara Bettle (Germany) Marija Luїze Jučmane (Latvia) Sara Byrne (Douglas) Rachel Thompson (Cork)

82 Sara Ericsson (Sweden) Laura Cody (Balbriggan) Jan Browne (Kilkenny) Talisa Brinker (Germany)

83 Emma Forbes (Royal Portrush) Nora Klintheim (Sweden) Sarah Burke (Mullingar) Lea Becker (Germany) Lea-Anne Bramwell (Wales)

84 Anne Micke Compo (Netherlands)

85 Ella Stromfelt (Sweden) Laetitia Veeser (Germany)

85 Ellie Doherty (Scotland)

86 Vivien Rösner (Germany) Malú Brinker (Germany) Isabella Holpfer (Austria) Georgia Carr (Milltown)

87 Cara Owin (Germany) Flera Robina Sprude (Latvia) Kate  McElroy (Faithlegg) Cay-Marie Müller (Germany)

88 Ellen O'Gorman (Milltown) Aine Donegan (Woodstock) Kate Dwyer (Rossmore)

90 Dezirae Wojciehowski (Germany)

91 Frowe Gräsel (Germany)

92 Emma Henningsson (Sweden) Leah Temple Lang (Elm Park)

93 Katie O'Hart (Arklow)

95 Patrizia Schfer (Germany)

101 Natalia Michaś (Poland)

Round 2 Time Sheet

  1. 08:00 Sara Ericsson (Sweden), Cay-Marie Müller (Germany), Rachel Thompson (Cork) 
  2. 08:10 Ella Stromfelt (Sweden), Ólöf María Einarsdóttir (Iceland), Elisa Corcoran (Grange) 
  3. 08:20 Marietta Ruhl (Germany), Loїs Lau (France), Emma Adolfsson (Sweden) 
  4. 08:30 Talisa Brinker (Germany), Lauren Walsh (Castlewarden), Cara Owin (Germany) 
  5. 08:40 Nora Klintheim (Sweden), Katja Mueller (Germany), Clodagh Walsh (Castlewarden) 
  6. 08:50 Kate Dwyer (Rossmore), Maeve Cummins (Lurgan), Rebecca MacLaren (Wellingborough/Ireland) 
  7. 09:00 Maeve Rooney (Co. Sligo), Ellen O'Gorman (Milltown), Anne Micke Compo (Netherlands)
  8. 09:10 Sara Byrne (Douglas), Lea-Anne Bramwell (Wales), Sarah Burke (Mullingar)
  9. 09:20 Starters Gap
  10. 09:30 Nicole McGavisk (Donabate), Frowe Gräsel (Germany), Emma Henningsson (Sweden) 
  11. 09:40 Aine Donegan (Woodstock), Marija Luїze Jučmane (Latvia), Jan Browne (Kilkenny) 
  12. 09:50 Malú Brinker (Germany), Kate McElroy (Faithlegg), Katie O'Hart (Arklow) 
  13. 10:00 Patrizia Schfer (Germany), Lorna McClymont (Scotland), Emma Forbes (Royal Portrush) 
  14. 10:10 Anna Foster (Elm Park), Georgia Carr (Milltown), Ellie Doherty (Scotland) 
  15. 10:20 Lea Becker (Germany), Leah Temple Lang (Elm Park), Laura Cody (Balbriggan)
  16. 10:30 Dezirae Wojciehowski (Germany), Flera Robina Sprude (Latvia), Natalia Michaś (Poland)10:40 Chloe Frankish (England), Celine Borge (Norway), Niamh McSherry (Lugan)
  17. 10:50 Sara Kjellker (Sweden), Shannon Stevie McWilliam (Scotland) 
  18. 11:00 Linn Grant (Sweden), Karoline Lund (Norway), Mairead Martin (Killarney) 
  19. 11:10 Maja Stark (Sweden), Hannah Leonie Karg (Germany), Mimi Rhodes (England)
  20. 11:20 Sofia Lundell (Sweden), Anna-Maria Diederichs (Germany), Annabel Wilson (Lurgan) 
  21. 11:30 Pi-lillebi Hermansson (Sweden), Jessica Hall (England), Valerie Clancy (Killarney) 
  22. 11:40 Claire Robertson (Scotland), Ingrid Lindblad (Sweden), Ellie Metcalfe (Laytown & Bettystown) 
  23. 11:50 Madelene Stavnar (Norway), Johanna Wollenhaupt (Germany), Louise Henningsson (Sweden) 
  24. 12:00 Nicola Fall (Finland), Rebecca Earl (England), Caroline Zolg (Germany) 
  25. 12:10 Starters Gap 
  26. 12:20 Martha Lewis (England), Matilde Stenqvist (Sweden), Tara Bettle (Germany) 
  27. 12:30 Andrea Lignell (Sweden) ,Christin Eisenbei (Germany), Rhian Barton (Wales) 
  28. 10:00/ 12:40 Ellen Andersson (Sweden), Amelie Sigemar (Sweden), Magdalena Cervinkova (Czech Republic) 
  29. 12:50 Hanna Ãhlander (Sweden), Joanne Free (Scotland), Laetitia Veeser (Germany) 
  30. 13:00 Nicola Wainwright (Wales), Vivien Rösner (Germany) Ellen Hutchinson-Kay (Sweden) 
  31. 13:10 Lily Hürlimann (Germany), Petronella Hjort (Sweden), Clodagh Jones (Roscrea)

Nations Cup

Sweden Team A – 212

  • 73 Sofia Lundell 
  • 70 Pi-Lillebi Hermannsso 
  • 69 Sara Kjelker

England - 223

  • 73 Cloe Frankish 
  • 78 Martha Lewis
  • 72 Euphemie Rhodes

Sweden Team B – 224

  • 76 Maja Stark
  • 73 Linn Grant
  • 75 Ingrid Lindblad

Ireland Team A - 227

  • 78 Niamh McSherry 
  • 78 Mairead Martin 
  • 71 Annabel Wilson

Scotland - 227

  • 76 Shannon McWilliam
  • 75 Claire Robertson
  • 76 Joanne Free

Ireland Team B - 234

  • 75 Valerie Clancy 
  • 80 Ellie Metcalfe
  • 79 Clodagh Jones