Rory, Shane and G-Mac set for WGC-Dell Match Play
Rory McIlroy

Rory McIlroy

The field for the WGC-Dell Match Play is taking shape and while world No. 7 Henrik Stenson and No 15 Jim Furyk will be giving it a miss, it's still likely to be a cracker.

As Furyk recovers from wrist surgery and Stenson skips the event in Austin due to scheduling, Rory McIlroy, Shane Lowry and Graeme McDowell will fly the flag for Irish golf.

Players have until 5 p.m. this Friday to commit to the field or be replaced by Nos. 65, 66, etc., in the OWGR until the field of 64 is filled.

In the case of Stenson and Furyk, world Nos 65 and 66, Patton Kizzire and Thornbjorn Olesen, will step into the breach in an event where the favourite will be Texas Longhorn and world No. 1 Jordan Spieth, who will be looking to capture his first World Golf Championship. 

The past two winners of the Dell Match Play trail Spieth at Nos. 2 and 3 in the world. 

McIlroy won the 2015 Dell Match Play in convincing fashion at TPC Harding Park in San Francisco, and Jason Day took home the 2014 title in a dramatic 23-hole finale at Dove Mountain in Tucson, beating McDowell along the way.

With the field of 64 all but finalised with one week remaining, players already qualified and committed as of Friday still have a chance to improve their seeding before groups are selected on Monday of tournament week. 

The top 16 players in the OWGR will each be the top seed in their four-player group, while the remaining three players will be chosen randomly during the Dell Match Play Draw Show, which will be broadcast live on Golf Channel from the Paramount Theatre in Austin on Monday, March 21, from 6-8 p.m. 

The qualified 64 players are listed below:

1 Jordan Spieth 

2 Rory McIlroy

3 Jason Day 

4 Bubba Watson 

5 Rickie Fowler 

6 Adam Scott

7 Henrik Stenson 

8 Justin Rose 

9 Dustin Johnson 

10 Patrick Reed 

11 Danny Willett 

12 Branden Grace 

13 Sergio Garcia 

14 Hideki Matsuyama 

15 Jim Furyk 

16 Louis Oosthuizen 

17 Brandt Snedeker 

18 Phil Mickelson 

19 Brooks Koepka 

20 Zach Johnson 

21 Charl Schwartzel 

22 Kevin Kisner 

23 J.B. Holmes 

24 Jimmy Walker 

25 Shane Lowry 

26 Paul Casey 

27 Kevin Na 

28 Matt Kuchar 

29 Marc Leishman 

30 Byeong Hun An 

31 Bill Haas 

32 Andy Sullivan 

33 Justin Thomas 

34 Russell Knox 

35 Danny Lee 

36 Emiliano Grillo 

37 Bernd Wiesberger 

38 Thongchai Jaidee 

39 David Lingmerth 

40 Victor Dubuisson 

41 Chris Wood 

42 Martin Kaymer 

43 Soren Kjeldsen 

44 Billy Horschel 

45 Ryan Moore 

46 Kiradech Aphibarnrat 

47 Matthew Fitzpatrick

48 Scott Piercy 

49 Robert Streb 

50 Smylie Kaufman 

51 Jaco Van Zyl 

52 Anirban Lahiri 

53 Jamie Donaldson 

54 Daniel Berger 

55 Rafael Cabrera Bello

56 Thomas Pieters 

57 Charley Hoffman

58 Jason Dufner 

59 Fabian Gomez 

60 Chris Kirk

61 Matt Jones 

62 Graeme McDowell 

63 Lee Westwood 

64 Marcus Fraser

The next five players in the OWGR that will act as alternates until the field of 64 is filled:

65 Patton Kizzire 

66 Thornbjorn Olesen 

67 Ian Poulter

68 Gary Woodland

69 Ryan Palmer