Leona Maguire eighth in California; Yates and Maynooth B take Irish Colleges Strokeplay
Leona Maguire. Courtesy: Lindy Brown, Duke Sports Information

Leona Maguire. Courtesy: Lindy Brown, Duke Sports Information

World amateur No 1 Leona Maguire battled to a share of eighth place in her first outing of 2016 in California.

As sister Lisa, now under coach Nick Bradley, shot rounds of 79, 82 and 78 to take 73rd on 239 for Duke University, Leona followed rounds of 69 and 76 by makign fivce birdies in a one under 70 on Tuesday to finish on two over par in the Northrop-Grumman Regional Challenge at Palos Verdes Golf Club

Duke finished tied fifth, 20 shots behind Washington, who were six shots winners from Alabama while Arizona State's Monica Vaughn closed with a superb, six under 65 to win the individual honours by three shots on four under par from Alabama's Janie Jackson (71) and Charlotte Thomas (70).


Weather prevails at Strandhill; Yates and Maynooth B declared Irish Colleges Strokeplay winners

UCD's Jonathan Yates and Maynooth B were declared the winners after round two of Irish Colleges Strokeplay Championship was cancelled on Tuesday as heavy rainfall and a forecast for further storms at Strandhill

Yates shot shot a one over 71 to win by one from Maynooth B's Sean Walsh with Maynooth A's Jack McDonnell third on 73.

In the team standings, the Maynooth B line up of McDonnell, Walsh, Gary Ward and Colin Woodroofe won by five strokes from NUI Galway's Sean Burke, Colm Hughes, Cathal Nolan and Ryan O'Doherty.

The next event on the Intervarsity Schedule is the final of the Intervarsity Series, which takes place at Castletroy on Wednesday, 24 February.

UCD’s Alex Gleeson currently leads the men’s series ahead of Maynooth duo Jordan Hood and Stuart Grehan while Maynooth’s Shannon Burke is leading the race for the ladies title ahead of Chloe Ryan.

Irish Colleges Strokeplay Championship, Strandhill GC

Team scores / Detailed individual scores

71 Jonathan Yates
72 Sean Walsh
73 Jack McDonnell
74 Sean Burke, Ryan O'Doherty, Ross Steedman
75 Colin Woodroofe, Ross Dutton, Alan Lowry
76 Gavin Fitzmaurice, Adam McSweeney, Ben Murray, Gregory O'Mahony
77 Cathal Nolan, Brian Doran, Kyle McCarron, Liam Grehan
78 Declan Reidy, Colm Hughes, Conor O'Mara, Ryan Gribben, Rachel Taylor, Dylan Lambe, Henry Clark
79 Harry McHugh, Cathal Butler, Ryan McCullough, Shannon Burke, Gary Ward, Ted Collins, James Lindsay
80 Jack Blake, Marc Nolan
81 Jack Boyd, Daniel O'Byrne, Meadhbh Doyle, Conor Harte
82 Matthew Butterly, David Byrne, Tristan Probst, Jack Walsh, Bill Murray, Neil McKinstry
83 Conor Fitzgerald, Jack Alton, Alastair McQuillan
84 Gareth Mann, David O'Sullivan, Andrew Magee
85 Frank Bruen, Ian Bentham
86 Chris Boylan, Cian Kidney, Raymond Crotty, Andrew Bonham
87 Rory Devitt, Jack Ward, Glen Mowat, John McCarthy, Charles McGoldrick
88 Laura Doherty, Adam Harkness
89 Philip O'Sullivan, Tristan Coakley, Ronan Molloy
90 Jack O'Flynn
91 Duane Topham
94 Cillian Tully, Brian Dunne
95 Conor McGowan
97 Jordan Mackin
102 Finbar Fouhy
0 Michael Hannigan, Barry O'Driscoll, Cathal O'Neill