McGettigan and McElhinney top North West Alliance at Portsalon

Brian McElhinney

Odhran McGettigan and former British Amateur champion Brian McElhinney won the nett and gross prizes when the North Western Alliance competition resumed after its winter break at Portsalon.

Intense cold, combined with gale-force winds, made for very difficult conditions at a Portsalon course shortened to 16 holes because of the higher water table.

The winner, for the second competition running, was the irrepressible Odhran McGettigan from Strabane Golf Club, who won by three points despite finishing with two blanks courtesy of a ball out of bounds at the par five 17th and a lost ball on the 18th.

Despite this, his form recently saw his handicap reduced by one to 25 and he is now second in the Golfer of the Year list, led by clubmate Eddie McHugh who was second to him on the day.

Eddie found his usual steady game depart him with blanks at fourth, 12th and 14th holes. The present Captain of the Alliance, David Forbes finished in third place. 

The long-time leader in the Golfer of the Year, Clive Davison, was fourth on the day and is now third in the Golfer of the Year with three remaining scoring events for this title.

In the battle for the Gross prize the usual suspects, Brian McElhinney and Michael McGeady, fought it out for the premier spot and for the second outing running they duly finished first and second, with Brian again having the bragging rights with a 67 to Michael's 70. 

Michael still has a very healthy lead of 11 points over Brian in the Golfer of the Year race on a 55 points. These two are well clear of the rest of the field in the 2015/16 Alliance.

North Western Alliance, Portsalon


  1. Odhran McGettigan (25) Strabane G.C. 31 pts
  2. Eddie McHugh (17) Strabane G.C. 28 pts 
  3. David Forbes (7) Faughan Valley G.C. 27 Pts
  4. Clive Davison (12) Portsalon G.C. 26 Pts b.o.t.


  1. Brian McElhinney (scr) North West G.C. 67
  2. Michael McGeady (scr) North West G.C. 70
  3. James Kelly (4) City of Derry G.C. 74 b.o.t.
  4. Shaun Doherty (scr) Ballyliffin G.C. 74

‘2’s’ Trevor McFarland and Mark Davis

Next competition: Ballyliffin (Glashedy), 20 February 2016.