In-form Smith leads weather-delayed Irish Colleges Invitational

Eugene Smith (Ardee) driving at the 15th tee in the Irish Youths Open & Irish Colleges Invitational Championship at Moyola Park. Picture by Pat Cashman

Maynooth University's Eugene Smith continued his run of good form by grabbing the clubhouse lead in the weather-delayed Irish Colleges Invitational—an event being played in tandem with the Irish Youths Championship— at Moyola Park.

The Cavan native, who was a beat semi-finalist in the AIG Irish Amateur Close last Saturday, fired a four under 67 to lead by one.

Although play was delayed by 90 minutes because of heavy rain overnight, Smith made five birdies on his front nine, posting a 67 to lead by one from Hollywood teenager Rory Williamson (68), who is leading the race for the Irish Youths (under-21) from Elm Park's John Cleary and Galway's Ronan Mullarney, who both shot 69.

As a result of the morning delay, the final group did not complete their first round. Castle's Alex Gleeson, the beaten Irish Close finalist who is also representing UCD this week, was three under while  Hermitage international Rowan Lester, was one under.

They will resume their first rounds on the 16th on Thursday at 8am,

In the colleges event, Maynooth University's A team lead on 140 thanks to Smith's 67 and a choice of 73s from Alan Lowry and Sean Flanagan with two of three scores count each day.

Maynooth's C team are second on 143 —Jack Walsh posted a 71 and Gary Ward came in with a 72. Other colleges competing include St Andrews from Scotland and the University of Exeter as well as NUIG, UCC, UCD, UUJ and Queens.

Rowan Lester (Hermitage) playing at the 10th hole in the Irish Youths Open & Irish Colleges Invitational Championship at Moyola Park Golf. Picture by Pat Cashman

Stefan Greenberg (Tandragee/UU) reactsto a missed putt on the 9th green in the Irish Youths Open & Irish Colleges Invitational Championship at Moyola Park. Picture by Pat Cashman

John Cleary (Elm Park) driving at the 15th tee in the Irish Youths Open & Irish Colleges Invitational Championship at Moyola Park. Picture by Pat Cashman

Alex Gleeson (Castle) playing at the 10th hole. Picture by Pat Cashman

Eugene Smith (Ardee) pitching to the 14th green. Picture by Pat Cashman

Irish Youths & Irish Colleges Invitational Championships, Moyola Park (Par 71)

Play suspended in Round 1 with final group finishing tomorrow morning at 8am.

Colleges standings, click here

Detailed scores

67 Eugene Smith (Ardee)

68 Rory Williamson (Holywood) [Rowan Lester (Hermitage) -3/15]

69 John Cleary (Elm Park), Ronan Mullarney (Galway)

70 Ryan Long (Cairndhu), Marc Nolan (Delgany) [Alex Gleeson (Castle) -1/15]

71 Gavin Fitzmaurice (Balcarrick), Micheal Shiel (Athenry), Jack Walsh (Castle), Stuart Bleakley (Shandon Park), Stefan Greenberg (Tandragee)

72 Paul McCarthy (Mallow), Marc McKinstry (Cairndhu), Liam Grehan (Mullingar), Jamie Fletcher (Warrenpoint), Cameron Raymond (Newlands), Ronan O'Callaghan (Mannan Castle), Gary Ward (Kinsale), Ross Steedman (Balcarrick), Ross Dutton (Tandragee), Monty Scowsill (), Ross Nelson (Belvoir Park), Ryan Corry (Clandeboye), Alec Myles (Newlands), Joe Carmody-Firth (), Matthew Murphy (Clandeboye)

73 Sean Flanagan (Co. Sligo), Neil McKinstry (Cairndhu), Alan Lowry (Esker Hills), Jonathan Yates (Naas), Andrew Clegg (Donaghadee), Cian Feeney (Co. Sligo), Dean Crawford (Moyola Park), David McAleenon (Edenmore), John Murphy (Kinsale), Ben Graham (Scrabo)

74 Alastair McQuillan (Cushendall), Michael Kennelly (Athenry), Luke Cummins (West Waterford), George Burns (University of St Andrews Mens Golf Club), Cameron Franssen (University of St Andrews Mens Golf Club), Devin Morley (Oughterard), Peter Kerr (Royal Portrush), Kevin Power (Kilkenny), Owen Crooks (Bushfoot), Peter Fleming (Galway)

75 Tommy O'Driscoll (Killarney), Harry Duggan (Kilkenny), Cathal Nolan (Galway), Timmy Broderick (Kinsale), Jordan Hood (Galgorm Castle), James Lindsay (North West), Gareth Carr (Mullingar), Shane McDermott (Co. Cavan), Paul Tobin (Cork), Louis O'Hara (Athenry), Liam Bresnahan (Omagh), Hugh O'Hare (Fortwilliam), Darragh Flynn (Carton House), Rory Murphy (Dun Laoghaire), Adam Mulhall (Ardglass), Peter McKeever (Castle), Ryan O'Doherty (Enniscrone)

76 Jake Whelan (Newlands), Mark Power (Kilkenny), Colin Woodroofe (Blainroe), Dylan Brophy (Castleknock), Philip O'Sullivan (Malone), Jordan Logue (Hilton Templepatrick), David McLellan (University of St Andrews Mens Golf Club), Tom Beasley (University of St Andrews Mens Golf Club), Colm Hughes (Galway), Matthew McGowan (Donegal Golf Club), Sean Walsh (Carton House), Mark Healy (Kinsale), Kyle McCarron (North West), Chris Williams (), Darragh Hobbs (Courtown) [Patrick Brennan (Belvoir Park) +5/15]

77 James Maginn (Mourne), Marie Danielson (University of St Andrews Ladies Golf Club ), William Small (Tandragee), Adam McCormick (), Peter Cummins (Lurgan), John McCarthy (Stackstown), Mark McKenna (Dun Laoghaire), Timothy Jordan (Dungannon), Harry McGeary (Dungannon), Craig Bolger (Carlow)

78 Sean Denny (Castleblayney), Shane Mcclean (Foyle), Andrew Hickey (Ballyhaunis), Bill Murray (Waterford Castle), Jack Mc Donnell (Forrest Little.), Mark Morrissey (Mount Wolseley), Reece Black (Hilton Templepatrick), Gonzalo Leon (University of St Andrews Mens Golf Club), Andrew Mulholland (Castlerock)

79 Henry Clark (Shandon Park), Jonathan Greer (Greenisland), Eoin O'Brien (Clontarf), Paul Murphy (Rosslare), Oisin Devereux (Carton House)

80 Glen Mowat (Enniskillen), Matthew Fitzsimons (Ardglass), Cillian Moloney (Fota Island), Conor Stone (Carton House), Simon Irwin (Holywood)

81 Evan Farrell (Ardee), David Brady (Co. Sligo), Ted Collins (Dun Laoghaire)

82 Max Thallon (Bangor), Ryan Thompson (Greenacres), Ashley Emerson (Ardglass)

83 Shane Hogan (The Heritage Golf Club), Jack Blake (The Island)

85 Adam Harkness (Malone), Cian Kidney (Lee Valley)

86 Jason Murphy (Warrenpoint), Jack McClean (Tandragee)

NR Gareth Mann (Tullamore)

DQ Darragh Fitzgerald (Limerick), Darragh O'Connor (Fota Island), Luke Robinson (Bundoran)