New champion on the horizon in Tramore

Robin Dawson (Faithlegg) bunkered at the 11th green during his quarter final match at the 2015 Irish Amateur Close Championship at Tramore Golf Club (21/05/2015). Picture by Pat Cashman

A new name will join the list of players to capture one of Ireland's six amateur majors after Tiarnan McLarnon, Eugene Smith, Robin Dawson and Alex Gleeson made Saturday's semi-finals in the AIG Irish Amateur Close at Tramore Golf Club.

AIG Irish Close Championship, Tramore Golf Club, 

18-22 August 2015

Round Three 

  1. Tiarnan McLarnon (Massereene) bt Jordan Hood (Galgorm Castle) 20th
  2. Jamie Fletcher (Warrenpoint) bt Marc Nolan (Delgany) 3/2
  3. Caolan Rafferty (Dundalk) bt Geoff Lenehan (Portmarnock) 2/1
  4. Eugene Smith (Ardee) bt Robert Cannon (Balbriggan) 2 Holes
  5. Robin Dawson (Faithlegg) bt Ben Murray (Waterford Castle) 6/5
  6. Robbie Pierse (Grange) bt Thomas Mulligan (Co. Louth) 9/7
  7. Daniel Holland (Castle) bt Mark Shanahan (Castlemartyr) 3/2
  8. Alex Gleeson (Castle) bt Simon McConnell (Ballyclare) 2 Holes 

Quarter Finals

  1. Tiarnan McLarnon (Massereene) bt Jamie Fletcher (Warrenpoint) 3/2
  2. Eugene Smith (Ardee) bt Caolan Rafferty (Dundalk) 2 Holes
  3. Robin Dawson (Faithlegg) bt Robbie Pierse (Grange) 3/1
  4. Alex Gleeson (Castle) bt Daniel Holland (Castle) 3/2

Saturday 22nd August

Semi Finals

  1. 0800 McLarnon v Smith
  2. 0815 Dawson v Gleeson

Final at 1300