McGarry wins Leinster Under 16 Close

Leinster Golf Under 16 Close Championship. Jack McGarry of Rosslare pictured with John Ferriter, Chairman of Leinster Golf and Richard Moran, Captain of Ashbourne. Photo: Ronan Quinlan

Rosslare's Jack McGarry was victorious over the 124 competitors who battled the elements today to win the Leinster Under 16 Close Championship at Ashbourne Golf Club. 

 McGarry had a winning score of 72, with birdie's on holes 5, 8 and 18 to clinch the title.  A member of Provincial Coach Johnny Young's A Panel, Jack has made steady progress over the last couple of years, reducing his handciap from 8 to 4 since 2013.  

A very close second came Jack Doherty from Carton House GC on 73.

Leinster Under 16 Close Championship 2015,  Kindly Sponsored by Titleist Footjoy

At Ashbourne Golf Club on Monday 6th July, CSS 72 SSS 70 Par 71

Final Scores

72 Jack McGarry (Rosslare)

73 Jack Doherty (Carton House)

74 Sean Doyle (Black Bush), Conor Glennon (Glasson), Luke Boore (Lucan)

75 Shane Kearney (Esker Hills)

77 Seamus Burke (Mount Juliet), Harry Kelly (Castle), Seán Dowling (Beaverstown), Ryan Brady (Newbridge), Richard Duggan (Kilkenny), Brendan Rossiter (Rosslare)

78 Evan Hollowed (Newlands), Cathal Ffrench (Carton House), Jamie Kelly (Ardee)

79 Ross McCabe (Roganstown G & CC), Liam Dunphy (Woodbrook), Stephan Campbell (The Island), Cian McCormack (Ashbourne), John Brady (Rosslare), Annraoi Collins (Laytown & Bettystown), Kevin O'donnell (Milltown), Zachariah Glynn (Bray)

80 Darren Daly (Forrest Little.), Robert Abernethy (Dun Laoghaire), Mark Travers (Carton House), Charlie Denvir (Powerscourt), Michael Fitzgibbon (Howth)

81 Donal Groome (Moyvalley), Adrian O'Connor (Milltown), John Murphy (Esker Hills), David Duggan (Highfield), Josh Mackin (Dundalk), Conor Liston (Black Bush), Jack Small (Elm Park), Ronan Cowhey (Elm Park)

82 Stephen Rennick (Curragh), Patrick Somers (Grange), Shane Irwin (Killeen), Niall Grant (The Island), Jack Walsh (Kilkenny), Barry Howlin (The Heritage), Max Kennedy (The Royal Dublin), Nathan O Brien (Rosslare), Christopher Cosgrave (Elm Park)

83 Niall Mc Cormick (Grange), Robert Galligan (Elm Park), Daniel Tully (Royal Tara), Shane Bresnan (Woodbrook), Robert Moran (Castle), George Morgan (Grange), Ben Brophy (Clontarf), Luke Lynch (Naas), Tim Farrelly (Howth)

84 Ben Phipps (Ardee), Rory Reid (Greystones), Niall Hearns (Mountrath), Lorcan O'Sullivan (The Heritage), Jack Connolly (Elm Park), David Twomey - Juv Golf (Elm Park)

85 Shane Conroy (Mountrath), Conor Murtagh (Balcarrick), James Mc Cormick (Grange), Andrew Gavin (Black Bush), Eoin Sullivan (Carton House), Ben Gaynor (Malahide), Joseph Byrne (Baltinglass), Brian Staunton (Mount Juliet), Matthew Crumlish (Ashbourne), A.J. McCabe (Malahide)

86 Connor Mulholland (Mount Juliet), Tom Wallace (Killiney), Darragh Rochford (Bray), Sean Kestell (Charlesland), Ned Kirwan (Mount Juliet), Eoin McGrath (Athlone), Joshua McCabe (Roganstown G & CC), Michael Duignan (Howth), Luke Merrigan (Bray), Sean Downes (Beaverstown)

87 Adam Doherty (Carton House), Tom Kelly (The Heritage), Eanna McLarney (Royal Tara), Alexander Flynn (Dun Laoghaire), Kevin Mc Ardle (Elm Park)

88 Aaron Mee (Royal Tara), Declan Roche (Beaverstown), Aaron Donnelly (Forrest Little.), James Temple (Portmarnock)

89 Sean Duffy (Royal Tara), Lorcan O'connor (Edmondstown), Mark Duggan (Highfield), Liam Travers (Ardee), David Jeffares (Athy), Harry Sutton (Bray), Joseph Hanney (The Island)

90 Jack Joyce (Greystones), Ciaran Gregan (Forrest Little.), Luka Keyes (Glen of the Downs), David Ryan (Beaverstown), Tom Laforgue (Beaverstown), Sergio Ganaza (Malahide), Robert Byrne (Malahide)

91 Paul Conroy (Enniscorthy), Thomas Kearns (Foxrock), Stephen Fitzgerald (Tullamore), Alex Argue (Beaverstown), Oisin O'Meara (Glasson)

92 Louis Walsh (Kilkenny), Peter O'Doherty (Carton House), Ben Hynes (Greystones)

93 Liam Barry (Delgany), Sean Marks (Kilcock), James Dunne (Beaverstown), Jack Brown (The Heath), Jamie Vard (Foxrock)

94 Philip Mangan (Beaverstown), Eoghan O'Donnell (Roganstown G & CC)

95 Glen Byrne (Glasson), Donncha Garvey (The Royal Dublin)

99 Stephen Murphy (Beaverstown)

101 Steven Farrell (Beaverstown)

NR Tom Crinion (Howth), Padraig Fallon (Dundalk)