Mitchell heads Connacht Seniors after opening 74
John Mitchell. Picture:  Pat Cashman

John Mitchell. Picture: Pat Cashman

Tramore's John Mitchell has a one-stroke lead after the opening round of the Connacht Seniors Open at Oughterard Golf Club.

Three over after three following a six at the second an da bogey at the third, he battled back to be two over with two to play but bogeyed the last two holes for a 74.

His four over par was still good enough for a the slimmest of leads over Richard Brooker (Skerries), Denis Deasy (Waterford), Neville Steedman (Balcarrick) and Garth McGimpsey (Bangor).

Connacht Seniors Open, Oughterard GC (Par 70)

SSS 70 and CSS 73 (R/O) Hole-by-holes scores

74 John Mitchell (Tramore)

75 Richard Brooker (Skerries), Denis Deasy (Waterford), Neville Steedman (Balcarrick), Garth McGimpsey (Bangor)

76 Michael Coote (Tralee), Maurice Kelly (Naas), Declan Corcoran (Thurles)

77 Bert Burke (Moate), Seamus Ward (Laytown & Bettystown), Mick Gaynor (Co. Meath), Richard McDowell (Royal Belfast), Liam Halpin (Westport), Tom Cleary (Cork), David Sheedy (Lahinch)
78 Billy Donlon (Birr), Brendan O'Malley (The Royal Dublin), Gerry O'Keeffe (Waterford), Michael F Galvin (Limerick)

79 John Cuffe (Monkstown), Ray Smith (Galway), Joe Crowley (Athy), Hugh Smyth (Mourne), Juan Fitzgerald (Limerick), Tony Hayes (Hermitage), John Carr (Oughterard), Martin Higgins (Claremorris)

80 Brendan McDonnell (K Club)

81 Kevin Sheehy (Athlone), Brian Whitaker (Elm Park), Jerry Gore (Oughterard), Rory Timlin (Galway), Paddy Harrington (Muskerry), Eamon Connolly (Blainroe), Kieran O'Mahony (Galway)

82 Patrick Griffin (Dooks), Ian Smyth (Clandeboye), Greg Young (Lahinch), Dave Roberts (Rathcore)

83 Francis Jules (), Jim McVeigh (Carlow), Des Egan (Loughrea), Dan Murphy (Youghal), Frank Leonard (Knightsbrook), Albert Hogg (Carrick-on-Shannon), John Houlihan (Dooks), Dermot Morris (Limerick), Michael Darcy (Oughterard)

84 Alistair Campbell (Massereene), Norman Farrell (Athenry), John Hynes (Oughterard), Paul Cooley (Portstewart)

85 Shane O'Mahony (Galway), Sean Moyna (Rossmore)

86 Pat Lynch (Slade Valley), Michael Foley (Faithlegg), Larry Cushen (The Heath), Terry Lilly (Slade Valley)

87 Greg Murphy (K Club), Rory Fitzgerald (Tramore), Tom Campion (Athlone), Nigel Woods (Bangor), Philip Fulham (Glenlo Abbey), Peter O'Flanagan (Woodbrook)

88 Val Smyth (Co. Louth), Kevin Raftery (Forrest Little), William J O’Brien (Ballykisteen), Michael Heaney (Oughterard), Keith Lapsley (Dunfanaghy), PJ Phelan (Cahir Park), Joseph Dowey (Lurgan)

89 Tadg Mannion (Athlone), John McCann (Co. Louth), James Malone ()

90 Sean McNamara (Killorglin), Pat Egan (Oughterard), Pat McEvilly (Oughterard)

91 Patrick O'Brien (Forrest Little), David Lindsay (Strandhill)

92 Ken Newens (Castlerock)

93 Gar Golden (Westport)

96 William Leggett (Island)

99 Joe Carney (Athlone)

101 Arthur Bell (Greencastle)

RTD Gerard O'Kennedy (Athlone), Niall Finnegan (Gort), Adrian Wynne (Strandhill), Lorcan Cribbin (Ballaghaderreen)