Webb leads Irish Senior Women's Close qualifying

Laura Webb

Defending champion Laura Webb leads the qualifiers by one stroke after opening with a two over 76 in the first round of the Irish Senior Women's Close Championship at Castletroy.

In blustery but dry conditions, the East Berkshire player went out in level par 38 and came home in one over par 37 to lead the field from last year’s beaten finalist Carol Wickham from Laytown and Bettystown with Royal Portrush's Mary MacLaren just one stroke further back on 78 and The Island' s Gertie McMullen on 79.

The field will play a further 18 holes over the immaculate parkland layout at Castletroy on Wednesday with the top 16 qualifying for matchplay over the following two days.

Players in positions seventeen through thirty-two will qualify for the Plate matchplay.

Irish Senior Women's Close Championship, Castletroy (PAR 74)

Round One (SSS 75 CSS 76)

75 Laura Webb (East Berkshire)

76 Carol Wickham (Laytown & Bettystown)

78 Mary MacLaren (Royal Portrush)

79 Gertie McMullen (Island)

81 Catherine Reilly (The Heath), Mary Dowling (Mallow)

82 Violet McBride (Belvoir Park), Phil O'Gorman (Laytown & Bettystown), Suzanne Corcoran (Portumna)

84 Julie Barkman (Nenagh), Sheena McElroy (Grange), Vivienne Houston (City of Derry), Mary Duane (Hermitage), Eilish Ahern (Callan), Pat Doran (Donabate)

85 Valerie Shannon (Lahinch)

86 Anita McCaw (Royal Co. Down Ladies), Marjorie Ahern (Lahinch)

87 Catherine Bird (Nenagh), Valerie Hassett (Ennis), Niamh Giblin (Dun Laoghaire)

88 Pauline Walsh (Headfort), Glory Ryan (Castletroy), Fionnuala McGrady (Dunmurry), Evelyn Donnelly (Lisheen Springs)

89 Fiona McComb (Ballycastle), Marilyn Henderson (Royal Belfast), Ann Monteith (Slieve Russell), Fiona Corbett (Castletroy)

90 Helen Jones (Royal Portrush), Catherine Kavanagh (Mitchelstown), Kate Evans (Royal Co. Down Ladies), Toni McDonagh (Fortwilliam)

91 Rita O'Neill (Callan), Mary Geaney (Killarney), Eileen Kenny - Ryan (Ballybunion), Fiona Glass (Ballycastle)

92 Ethna Leonard (Castletroy)

93 Josette O'Donnell (Ballybunion)

94 Mary Byrne (Castletroy), Maria O'Connor (Castleisland), Mary Mather (Cill Dara)

95 Trudy Brosnan (Kanturk), Anne Marie Carroll (Ballybunion), Eithne Hehir (Ballyneety)

96 Yvonne Cassidy (Castletroy)

98 Ailish Diliger (Limerick)

99 Sighle Henigan (Ballybunion), Marion Cummins (Castletroy), Mary O'Donoghue (Ballybunion), Anne Wemyss (Callan)

100 Hilary Harte (Monkstown)

103 Ruth Maguire (Corrstown)