Carnage at Castlerock - 75 leads as scores rocket

Portmarnock's Conor Purcell. Picture by Pat Cashman

Portmarnock’s Conor Purcell had two eagles yet still only managed a 75 for a share of the first round lead with The Island’s Gareth Hogan in the Ulster Boys Championship at Castlerock.

The pair lead by a shot on two over from Col Sligo’s David Brady, Balbriggan’s Tommy Doran, Clandeboye’s Ryan Corry and Belvoir Park’s Marc Norton on a day when just 22 players in the 149-strong field broke 80.

Purcell had a triple bogey seven at the second, an eagle three at the third, a bogey at the short fourth and another eagle three at the fifth for an eventful level par stretch.

Royal Portrush's Tyron Clarke, son of Ryder Cup captain Darren Clarke, was five over after five but the five-handicapper dug deep and played the remainder in level par for a five over 78 worth a share of 10th place.  

The top 54 after Wednesday’s second round will qualify for the final 36 holes on Thursday.

Ulster Boys Championship, Castlerock (Par 73)

Detailed scores

75 Gareth Hogan (Island), Conor Purcell (Portmarnock)

76 David Brady (Co. Sligo), Tommy Doran (Balbriggan), Ryan Corry (Clandeboye), Marc Norton (Belvoir Park)

77 William Small (Tandragee), Marc McKinstry (Cairndhu), Louis O'Hara (Athenry)

78 Tyrone Clarke (Royal Portrush), Peter Kerr (Royal Portrush)

79 Adam McCormick (Scrabo), Sean Kestell (Charlesland), John Murphy (Kinsale), Andrew Mays (Portmarnock), Bill Hannan (Carton House), Marc Boucher (Carton House), Brian Jnr Fehily (Newlands), Reece Black (Hilton Templepatrick), Karl Eccles (Clandeboye), Owen Crooks (Bushfoot), Jack Doherty (Carton House)

80 Daniel Reilly (Galgorm Castle), Michael Joseph Kennelly (Athenry), Luke Cummins (West Waterford), Jamie Knipe (Royal Portrush), Marc McCormack (Ashbourne), James Cronin (Woodbrook), Gabriel Gribben (Fortwilliam), Tom O'Hara (Co. Sligo), Caolan Murphy (Greenore), Patrick Brennan (Belvoir Park), Dean Cafferty (Carton House)

81 Nathan McCann (Lurgan), Michael McGurk (Warrenpoint), Gavin Fitzmaurice (Balcarrick), Chris Black (Dunmurry), Gary Trotter (Aughnacloy), Anthony McAteer (Warrenpoint), David Hill (Roscommon), Jake Rowe (Tandragee), Jack Patton (Letterkenny)

82 Ross Mohan (Balcarrick), Fergus McCambridge (Cushendall), Eamonn O'Driscoll (Killarney), Declan Kelly (Hermitage), Adam Cromwell (Co. Armagh), Campbell Rodgers (Royal Portrush), David Clince (Craddockstown), Conor Smart (Belvoir Park), Hugh O'Hare (Fortwilliam), Connor Mulholland (Mount Juliet), Jake Vickers (Balbriggan), David McAleenon (Edenmore)

83 Jack Brophy (The Royal Dublin), Ben Surgeoner (Rathmore), Cathal Butler (Kinsale), Odhran Mullan (Castlerock), Enda Kennedy (Black Bush), Sean Murphy (Charlesland), Anton Brennan (Athenry), Rory Murphy (Dun Laoghaire), Jordan Logue (Hilton Templepatrick), Jamie Tharma (Royal Belfast), Graham Curry (Faughan Valley)

84 Sean Doyle (Athlone), Luke Flynn (Dun Laoghaire), Matthew Fitzsimons (Ardglass), Mark Healy (Kinsale), Ross Nelson (Belvoir Park), Ronan McCambridge (Cushendall), Rory Williamson (Holywood), Devin Morley (Oughterard), William Eickholt (Portmarnock), Conor Byrne (Woodbrook)

85 Ryan Sheerin (Tullamore), Kevin Power (Kilkenny), David Burns (Cushendall), Gary Ward (Kinsale), Conor Mooney (Black Bush), Peter Cummins (Lurgan), Henry Clark (Shandon Park), Luke Donnelly (Kilkenny), Darragh Burke (Tullamore), Peter Clark (Royal Portrush)

86 Jack Madden (Dungannon), Stewart McCaw (Royal Belfast), Shane McDermott (Co. Cavan), Ross Moore (Royal Portrush), Conor McDonald (Lurgan), Christopher Duffy (Letterkenny), Keaton Morrison (Holywood), Cathal Hastings (Castlebar)

87 Sean Breheny (St. Anne's), Liam Jennings (Balmoral), Cian Hutchinson (Carton House), T J Ford (Co. Sligo), Ryan Thompson (Greenacres), Oisin Devereux (Carton House), Adam Crum (Cairndhu), Peter Rolston (Shandon Park), David Cunningham (Tandragee), Alan Fahy (Bray), Ciaran Smyth (Greenore), Dara Phelan (Faithlegg), Michael Young (France), Timothy Howes (Mount Juliet), Ward Farrell (Dunmurry)

88 Niall Doran (Mourne), Daragh Coleman (Skerries), Brian Houston (Edenmore), Aaron O'Donnell (Athenry)

89 John Moore (Royal Portrush), Jordan McDonald (St. Anne's), Nathan Kernaghan (Massereene)

90 Andrew Glass (Castlerock), Christopher Charlton (Dungannon), Patrick Jordan (Silverwood), Glenn Fry (Carrickmines), Ryan McNamara (Carrickfergus), Colm Beakey (Galway Bay)

91 Alex Murray (Island), Jude Maskey (Fortwilliam), Jack Shellard (Lisburn)

92 Ciaran McCabe (Dungannon), Jason Murphy (Warrenpoint), Conor Mckay (Roe Park)

93 Cian Feeney (Co. Sligo), Conor Rice (Athlone), Aaron Howard (Palmerstown Stud)

94 Ben Graham (Scrabo), Harry Mcgeary (Dungannon), Jack Montgomery (Fintona), Eanna Melville (Gort), Darragh Smith (Castle), Danny McGarvey (Cruit Island), Jack Liston (Black Bush), Joseph Rafferty (Castle Hume)

95 Jack Johnston (Clandeboye)

96 Marco Deane (Malone)

97 Paul Kelly (Glasson), James Bohan (Kinsale)

98 Daniel Devlin (Fota Island), Seamus Og O'Neill (Co. Cavan)

101 Thomas Gracey (Dunmurry)

103 Eoin Aherne (Mallow)

NR Dale Baker (Downpatrick), David Knox (Foyle), Danny Madden (Dungannon)