Round-up: McNamara shines on EDP Tour; Quinlan wins at Nuremore; Waterford Scratch Cup

Headfort's Rory McNamara is just four shots off the pace entering today's final round of the CEEVEE Leather Open on the EDP Tour at Walldürn-Neusaß near Frankfurt.

The former North of Ireland and West of Ireland champion followed an opening 70 with a 71 at Golfclubs Glashofen-Neusass to share fifth place behind Germany's Benedict Staben (67-70) on three under. Scores

Royal County Down's Reeve Whitson (75-71) is tied for 19th on two over but Lucan's Richard O'Donovan (69-80) missed the cut by one.

Quinlan wins Irish PGA Assistants Championship Pro-Am

Steven Quinlan fired a brilliant five under par 66 to win the Irish PGA Assistants Championship Pro-Am at Nuremore Hotel & Country Club on Monday.
Quinlan's round was peppered with six birdies and just one dropped shot at the County Monaghan venue as he cruised to a four shot victory.
Graham Donohoe (Rosslare GC) grabbed second place with a one under par round of 70.
Brian McCormack (Edenderry GC) guided his amateur partners to success in the pro-am event with a team score of 101 points.
The two-day Assistants Championship gets underway tomorrow (Tuesday) with Chris Carvill (Belvoir Park) hoping to defend the title he won last year.
Irish PGA Assistants Championship Pro-Am, Nuremore Hotel & Country Club (Par 71)
66 S Quinlan
72 G Donohoe (Rosslare GC) 70 T3 G Hall (Edenderry Golf Academy); J Dillon (Headfort GC)
74 A Staunton (Hollywood Lakes GC); B Doheny (Rathsallagh GC)
75 M Murphy (Rosslare GC); D Carroll (Seapoint GC)
76 S O'Donoghue (Carlow GC)
77 B McCormack (Edenderry Golf Academy); D Barry (Douglas GC).

Treacy wins Waterford Senior Scratch Cup

Carrick on-Suir's Kieran Treacy with his replica of the Waterford Scratch Cup

Carrick on-Suir's Kieran Treacy with his replica of the Waterford Scratch Cup

Carrick on-Suir's Kieran Treacy added his name to the list of winners of the prestigious TopGolfer Tour sponsored Waterford Senior Scratch Cup on Saturday.

The famous Waterford Scratch Cup is too heavy to be moved

The famous Waterford Scratch Cup is too heavy to be moved

The winner shot rounds of 72 and 71 to triumph by a stroke on one over 143 from Richard Walsh.

As Philip Reid reported in The Irish Times back in 2003, it's one of the most iconic trophies in Irish golf.

Waterford's association with producing trophies for golf goes back to 1956 and, appropriately enough, it all started locally in Waterford Golf Club. At a time when Waterford was establishing a worldwide name, some workers in the factory wanted to showcase the craft on a new trophy for the Waterford Scratch Cup.
A trophy - to be won by among others Joe Carr, Philip Walton and John McHenry over the years - was created and it remains the largest ever made. it stands four feet high and is far too heavy to be lifted, remaining on permanent display in the club.
It was to be a couple of decades later before Waterford really broke into the American golf trophy market, and the input of singer Bing Crosby was a significant one. Playing in a Pro-Celebrity Golf Tournament organised by the BBC, Crosby was so taken with the prizes that he commissioned the company to create a trophy for the Bing Crosby Pebble Beach Pro-Am.

Results of the TopGolf Tour sponsored Waterford Senior Scratch Cup (Par 71)
1 Kieran Treacy (Carrick on Suir) 143 (72 71) 
2 Richard Walsh (Kilkenny) 144 (70 74) 
3 Denis Sinnott (Waterford Castle) 146 (72 74) 
4 Anthony Feicks (Waterford) 146 (76 70) 
5 Sean Ally (Co.Tipperary) 148 (74 74) 
T6 Colin Woodroofe (Blainroe) 149 (73 76) 
T6 Luke Cummins (West Waterford) 149 (74 75) 
T6 David McDonald (Old Conna) 149 (76 73) 
T6 Dan Murphy (Portarlington) 149 (79 70) 
T10 Paul O'Hara (Kilkenny) 150 (74 76) 
T10 Kevin Collins (Fermoy) 150 (78 72) 
12 Padraig Connolly (Killeen Castle) 151 (77 74) 
T13 John Fanning (Waterford) 152 (77 75) 
T13 Thomas Martin (Waterford Castle) 152 (78 74) 
T15 Eoin Conway (West Waterford) 153 (77 76) 
T15 Lee McMillan (Craddockstown) 153 (79 74) 
T15 Glaisne McKevitt (Greenore) 153 (80 73) 
T18 Gerry O'Keeffe (Waterford) 154 (77 77) 
T18 Ian Murphy (Waterford) 154 (77 77) 
T18 Michael Stewart (Rockmount) 154 (78 76) 
T21 Ross Powell (Waterford) 156 (77 79) 
T21 Eoin Cantwell (Kilkenny) 156 (77 79) 
T21 Stephen Finlan (Dunmurry Springs) 156 (77 79) 
T21 Ronan Twomey (Muskerry) 156 (77 79) 
T21 Cillian Maloney (Fota Island) 156 (79 77) 
T21 Tom Crotty (Waterford Castle) 156 (81 75)