Munster Strokeplay - Anderson set for May 2-3 defence
Cork Golf Club

Cork Golf Club

Royal Dublin's Barry Anderson will return to Cork Golf Club in two weeks' time to defend his Munster Strokeplay title. 

The Sligo native will be joined by 2009 winner Pat Murray from Limerick, 2013 champion Kieran McCarthy from Castlemartyr and three-time winner Niall Gorey (2007/8, 2011), who is now playing out of Palmerstown Stud in Kildare.

A host of top amateurs from all four provinces will also be at Cork Golf Club honing their games for the following week's Irish Amateur Open at Royal Dublin.

Last year’s runner up Gary O’Flaherty will lead a strong Cork Golf Club challenge which includes John Hickey, Eoghan Murphy and Ian O’Rourke. 

Download draw (PDF)

Recent Munster Youths winner Paul McCarthy from Mallow is also in the field as is former Waterford hurler Paul Flynn from Tramore, now a regular competitor at championship events.

The cut for the 75 entrants fell at 0.8, indicating the quality of the field lined up for Cork’s showpiece event.

Former Irish Close and South of Ireland champion Murray is the lowest handicapped player in the field off plus 3.0 while there are 50 golfers playing off a plus handicap. 

The 6,813-yard, par-72 course is a classic example of an Alister MacKenzie design and having invested heavily in several improvements over the past five years, Cork Golf Club is sure to provide the field with an enjoyable challenge over the four rounds. 

This is the seventh staging of the event, one which developed from the Cork Senior Scratch Cup, which was the oldest competition of its type in Ireland. The Cup is still presented to the winner of the Munster Strokeplay. 

Munster Stroke Play Championship, Cork Golf Club, 2-3 May 2015

  1. 07:30 12:30 M Ford Cork E Hannon Lee Valley K McGarry Castlemartyr 
  2. 07:38 12:38 R Twomey Muskerry G O'Mahony Fota Island E Murphy Cork 
  3. 07:46 12:46 G O'Flaherty Cork S Barry Fota Island M Collins Killeen Castle 
  4. 07:54 12:54 N Gorey  Palmerston Stud D O'Donovan Muskerry K Canty Douglas 
  5. 08:02 13:02 F Deasy Cork P Flynn Tramore S Walsh Portmarnock 
  6. 08:10 13:10 M Shanahan Castlemartyr T O'Driscoll Killarney M Nolan Delgany 
  7. 08:18 13:18 C Crowley Woodbrook M O'Sullivan Stow Acres USA K McDonagh The Royal Dublin 
  8. 08:26 13:26 J Greene Portmarnock K Stack Dungarvan G McGrane The Royal Dublin 
  9. 08:42 13:42 J Hopkins  The Royal Dublin J Pierce Portmarnock J Hickey Cork 
  10. 08:50 13:50 S O'Hara Co Sligo E Farrell Ardee W Hanna Kilkeel 
  11. 08:58 13:58 G Dunne Co Louth P Neville Bearna P Murphy Rosslare 
  12. 09:06 14:06 I O'Rourke  The Royal Dublin T McLarnon Massereene B Daly Edmonstown 
  13. 09:14 14:14 S Carter The Royal Dublin S Healy Carton House J Lyons Galway 
  14. 09:22 14:22 D Hallissey Muskerry P O'Neill Shannon M MacGrath  Limerick 
  15. 09:38 14:38 A Thomas Dungarvan A Grant Dundalk N Goulding Portmarnock 
  16. 09:46 14:46 P Murray Limerick A Gleeson Castle B Anderson The Royal Dublin 
  17. 09:54 14:54 E Griffin Waterford S McGlynn Carton House K McCarthy Castlemartyr 
  18. 10:02 15:02 C Rafferty  Dundalk J Yates Naas S Bryan Delgany 
  19. 10:10 15:10 D Reidy Co Sligo T O'Leary Wexford P Connolly Killeen Castle 
  20. 10:18 15:18 J Sugrue Mallow C O'Rourke  Naas R Knightly The Royal Dublin 
  21. 10:26 15:26 I Lynch Rosslare R Kenneally Portmarnock S Brady Co Sligo 
  22. 10:34 15:34 K Fitzpatrick Kinsale C Coyne Youghal T Neenan Lahinch 
  23. 10:42 15:42 C Butler Kinsale F O'Sullivan Tralee D Brennan Shannon 
  24. 10:50 15:50 P McCarthy Mallow C Geraghty Laytown & Bettystown A McCormack Newcastle West 
  25. 10:58 15:58 E Leahy Thurles J O'Leary Dromoland Castle I Spillane  Mallow 

Waiting List 

  1. J Leacy Dungarvan 
  2. J Monaghan The Royal Dublin 
  3. R Pierce Grange 
  4. R Berkeley Dun Laoghaire 
  5. S Burns Dromoland Castle 
  6. D McMahon Tralee 
  7. K Lynch Skibbereen 
  8. D McInerney Lahinch 
  9. C Kenny  Portmarnock 
  10. E Long Monkstown 
  11. M Power Kilkenny 
  12. P Fitzpatrick Kanturk 
  13. D Kelly Hermitage 
  14. A Harrington Cork 
  15. D O'Driscoll Ballybunion 
  16. J Hickey Doneraile 
  17. P Hession East Clare 
  18. S Whooley Muskerry 
  19. E O'Donnell Tralee