Huang shines but Irish struggle in Shenzhen International
Surprise leader Huang Wen-yi of China. Picture © Getty Images

Surprise leader Huang Wen-yi of China. Picture © Getty Images

Damien McGrane was the only Irish player inside the projected cut mark ahead of today's second round of the inaugural Shenzhen International in China.

The Headfort man opened with a one over 73 at Genzon Golf Club to trail surprise leader Huang Wen-yi of China by seven shots.

Peter Lawrie hit just seven fairways while Kevin Phelan and Michael Hoey had 33 putts as all three posted two over par 74s to leave themselves with work to do to make the cut.

Home hero Huang may not have picked up a golf club until the age of 22, but he appears determined to make up for lost time after a sparkling round of 66 gave him a one shot lead over Chile’s Felipe Aguilar, Thailand’s Kiradech Aphibarnrat, Korea’s Byeong Hun An and America’s Peter Uihlein.

Huang worked as a labourer and then a caddie before falling in love with the game, and his decision to pursue a career in golf looks a shrewd one after he carded eight birdies against two bogeys on a sun-kissed day in Shenzhen. 

“Last year I didn’t play very well at all. But this year I have changed my swing, and yesterday I changed to a new driver, which I like very much. I like this course, the green speed is very good and I holed a lot of putts.

While Huang produced the round of the day, Challenge Tour graduate An enjoyed the shot of the day when he aced the par three eighth.

Two-time Masters Champion Bubba Watson was part of a group on two under par, the American carding a hat-trick of gains from the fifth in a 70.

Shenzen International, Genzon Golf Club (Par 72)

66 H Wen-Yi (Chn), 

67 P Uihlein (USA), F Aguilar (Chi), K Aphibarnrat (Tha), B An (Kor), 

68 D Fichardt (RSA), 

69 G Mulroy (RSA), M Crespi (Ita), R Fisher (Eng), R Wattel (Fra), A Wall (Eng), M Ford (Eng), R Cabrera-Bello (Esp), M Manassero (Ita), A Sullivan (Eng), S Kapur (Ind), 

70 B Watson (USA), B Dredge (Wal), R Finch (Eng), G Havret (Fra), F Zhi-Peng (Chn), B Hebert (Fra), J Garcia Pinto (Esp), D Horsey (Eng), W Wei-Huang (Chn), T Fleetwood (Eng), S Hend (Aus), G Stal (Fra), Y Yi-Nong (Chn), 

71 T Fisher Jnr (RSA), M Tullo (Chi), L Hao-Tong (Chn), J Kruger (RSA), J Quesne (Fra), P Edberg (Swe), M Korhonen (Fin), O Yangzheng (Chn), A Levy (Fra), R Jacquelin (Fra), D Brooks (Eng), R Bland (Eng), D Howell (Eng), E Grillo (Arg), M Madsen (Den), Y Yechun (Chn), ,, 

72 Z Hui-Lin (Chn), A Quiros (Esp), A Cañizares (Esp), J Lando Casanova (Fra), Z Xin-Jun (Chn), R Paratore (Ita), J Campillo (Esp), Z Jia (Chn), J Carlsson (Swe), L Bjerregaard (Den), M Fraser (Aus), R Ramsay (Sco), T Lewis (Eng), Y Yang (Kor), T Hatton (Eng), G Bourdy (Fra), M Kieffer (Ger), 

73 N Colsaerts (Bel), H Ren (Chn), M Nixon (Eng), H Ze-Yu (Chn), C Yi (Chn), L Yan-Wei (Chn), K Broberg (Swe), M Carlsson (Swe), E Pepperell (Eng), M Schneider (Ger), H Mu (Chn), S Kjeldsen (Den), N Fasth (Swe), D McGrane (Irl), L Xin-Yang (Chn), W Ormsby (Aus), A Noren (Swe), O Fisher (Eng), P Larrazábal (Esp), M Lampert (Ger), D Lipsky (USA), 

74 K Phelan (Irl), E Espana (Fra), P Lawrie (Irl), S Dong (Chn), M Lundberg (Swe), D Drysdale (Sco), O Farr (Wal), M Hoey (Nir), R McEvoy (Eng), J Van Zyl (RSA), L Gui-Ming (Chn), S Barr (Aus), A Johnston (Eng), 

75 Z Lianwei (Chn), C Lee (Sco), C Zi-Hao (Chn), L Ding-Feng (Chn), Z Xiongyi (Chn), D Ze-Cheng (Chn), L Wen-Chong (Chn), J Morrison (Eng), G Bhullar (Ind), E Molinari (Ita), B Evans (Eng), C Wood (Eng), S Hutsby (Eng), J Cheng (Chn), W Yichen (Chn), 

76 H Ming-Jie (Chn), C Ding-Gen (Chn), S Hansen (Den), A Dodt (Aus), A Otaegui (Esp), J Edfors (Swe), H Zeming (Chn), G Storm (Eng), K Wei (Chn), 

77 P Waring (Eng), J Scrivener (Aus), W Xu (Chn), M Foster (Eng), P Hanson (Swe), R Karlsson (Swe), O Wilson (Eng), 

78 X Zhi (Chn), Y Bin (Chn), J Palmer (Eng), Z Jin (Chn), T Pieters (Bel), L Hao-Yuan (Chn), H Shao-Cai (Chn), B Ning (Chn), W Kang-Chun (Chn), 

79 B Lein (USA), S Jamieson (Sco), C Hai-Meng (Chn), C Xiao-Ma (Chn), 

80 L Fangyi (Chn), Y Tian (Chn), X Bowen (Chn), W Ming-Hao (Chn), G Tian-Lang (Chn), 

81 Y Hao (Chn), 

82 Z Guo-Wu (Chn), C Weirong (Chn), 

83 C Doak (Sco), 

84 W Wei (Chn), X Se (Chn), D Chen Xiao (Chn), W Dongyu (Chn), 

86 J Da-Xing (Chn), 

RET J Jeong (Kor), 

DQ H Yong-Le (Chn).