Conor McGettigan best at Portsalon
Portsalon Golf Club. Picture courtesy  Aidan Bradley Golf Course Photography

Portsalon Golf Club. Picture courtesy Aidan Bradley Golf Course Photography

Letterkenny's Conor McGettigan won the opening North Western Golfing Alliance outing of 2015 at Portsalon on Saturday.

The 12 handicapper had 38 points to win by one stroke from Billy Hutchman and Maurice McGettigan, who consolidated his position as leader of the Golfer of the Year in the Nett section and with two "counting" competitions to go.

Maurice leads on 32 pts from his brother Odran (22 pts) with a third member of the Strabane contingent, Eddie McHugh, third with 17 points.

Society secretary Barry Ramsay reports:

In the Gross section after nine holes, North West's Michael McGeady was leading on 37 strokes, followed by Finnian O’Doherty and Seamus McMonagle both a stroke behind on 38. However, the scene had changed somewhat coming off the 12th green. Finnian had had two birdies and a bogey, Seamus had one birdie and Michael had dropped a stroke. Therefore, as they approached the last three holes, the story was that Finnian was ahead by one while Michael was one ahead of Seamus! The final three holes then saw Finnian hold on despite dropping a stroke at the 17th par 5, which the other two players parred, and so Finnian  beat Michael on the break of tie on the inward nine countback while Seamus was one stroke further back to take third place.
Finnian is now well ahead in the Golfer of the Year Gross section on 38pts, vindicating his decision to return early from his "tour" of the States, with Seamus on 28pts and Noel Callan dropping to third on 26 pts.

North Western Golfing Alliance, Portsalon GC (February 7 2015)


  1. Connor McGettigan (12) Letterkenny 38 pts  
  2. Billy Hutchman (12) Faughan Valley 37 pts [b.o.t]. 
  3. Maurice McGettigan (17) Strabane 37 pts  
  4. Clive Davison (12) Portsalon 34 pts [b.o.t.] 
  5. Joe Coyle [6] Portsalon 34 pts [b.o.t.]


  1. Finnian O’Doherty (1) 72 [b.o.t]. 
  2. Michael McGeady (scr) North West 72 
  3. Seamus McMonagle (scr) Dunfanaghy 73 
  4. Garrett Mallon (2) North West 77
  5. Kealan Quigg (scr) City Of Derry 78 [b.o.t.]

2s — McGlinchey, K Lapsley, N Callen

Next outing: Ballyliffin Golf Club, 21st February 2015