Maynooth dominates Irish Intervarsity field

Defending champion Declan Loftus heads a huge Maynooth entry for the Irish Intervarsity Championship at The European Club this week.

Maynooth students make up one third of the 87-strong field and Castlebar man Loftus will be hoping to retain the trophy he won after a play-off with the University of Ulster's Tiarnan McLarnon at The Heritage Golf Club last March.

The 54-hole strokeplay event begins on Wednesday with the last three Irish Youths champions, Stuart Grehan (Maynooth), McLarnon (Ulster) and Kyle McCarron (Maynooth) all in action.

Irish Intervarsity Championship

Wednesday 18th – Friday 20th February 2015 
Kindly hosted by The European Club 
Draw for Rounds 1 & 2 [PDF]

Wed Thur 

  1. 08:00 10:10 Joe Neiland (UCD) Emma O’Driscoll (UCD) Marc Nolan (IADT) 
  2. 08:09 10:20 Marcus Looby (IADT) John Conroy (UCD) Ryan O'Dwyer (Hibernia) 
  3. 08:18 10:30 Ross Dutton (Ulster) John Robinson (Ulster) Declan Loftus (Maynooth) 
  4. 08:27 10:40 Stefan Greenberg (Ulster) James Lindsay (Ulster) Stephen Kinch (Maynooth) 
  5. 08:36 10:50 Daragh Congdon (Maynooth) Daniel O'Connor (Maynooth) Tim Jordan (Ulster) 
  6. 08:45 11:00 Ryan Gribben (Ulster) Sean Flanagan (Maynooth) Jack Walsh (Maynooth) 
  7. 08:54 11:10 Roisin Brady (Ulster) Iain Collins (NCI) Darragh Flynn (Maynooth) 
  8. 09:03 11:20 Enda Craddock (NUIG) Mark Morrissey (Ulster) Michael Gielty (NCI) 
  9. 09:12 11:30 Peter Fleming (NUIG) Eoin O’Hehir (DIT) Liam Grehan (Maynooth) 
  10. 09:21 11:40 Alex Doyle (DIT) Colm Hughes (NUIG) Brian Dunne (DKIT) 
  11. 09:30 11:50 Shane McGlynn (DCU) Paul Cullen (DKIT) Declan Reidy (IT Sligo) 
  12. 09:40 12:00 Cathal Nolan (NUIG) Andrew Bonham (DCU) Sinead Sexton (Maynooth) 
  13. 09:50 12:10 Amy Farrell (DCU) Jake Whelan (Maynooth) Ryan O'Doherty (NUIG) 
  14. 10:00 12:20 Ali McQuillan (Ulster) Josh Lockhart (Ulster) Clare Martyn (DIT) 
  15. 10:10 12:30 Ted Collins (UCD) April Timothy (DIT) Niall Kennedy (WIT) 
  16. 10:20 08:00 Kiefer Toolan (Ulster) Greg Milne (WIT) Shannen Brown (Maynooth) 
  17. 10:30 08:09 Dylan O'Connor (WIT) Shannon Burke (Maynooth) Andrew Stokes (TCD) 
  18. 10:40 08:18 Derek Power (WIT) Nicholas Armstrong (TCD) Maeve Kelly (Maynooth) 
  19. 10:50 08:27 Gavin Young (WIT) Kate Whyte (Maynooth) Conor Stone (Maynooth) 
  20. 11:00 08:36 Alan Lowry (Maynooth) John McCarthy (UCD) Daniel O'Byrne (TCD) 
  21. 11:10 08:45 Colin Woodroofe (Maynooth) Kieran Lynch (Maynooth) Laura Doherty (TCD) 
  22. 11:20 08:54 Tiarnan McLarnon (Ulster) Stuart Grehan (Maynooth) Kyle McCarron (Maynooth) 
  23. 11:30 09:03 Sean O'Connor (Maynooth) Jack McDonnell (Maynooth) Matthew McClean (Ulster) 
  24. 11:40 09:12 Gareth Mann (UCD) Sean Walsh (Maynooth) Matt. McGowan (Maynooth) 
  25. 11:50 09:21 Gerard McNamara (Maynooth) Andrew McCormack (UL) Jack Ryan (UCD) 
  26. 12:00 09:30 Jonathan Yates (UCD) Craig Melvin (Maynooth) James Rodgers (Ulster) 
  27. 12:10 09:40 Ronan Mullarney (Maynooth) Ryan McKinstry (QUB) Gordian Barry (UCC) 
  28. 12:20 09:50 Ben Murray (UCC) Eoghan O’Donovan (Maynooth) Jessica Ross (QUB) 
  29. 12:30 10:00 Alex Gleeson (UCD) Neil McKinstry (Ulster) Eoin O'Brien (Maynooth)  

The Draw for Round 3 (Friday 20th February) will take place 15 minutes after the conclusion of play on Thursday 19th February. All competitors will play in score order, from the first and tenth tees, between 0845 and 1045hrs. 

WAITING LIST: The following players will be offered a place as withdrawals occur in the following order (ie, order of handicap). 

1. Cillian Byrne (DIT) 
2. Stephen Lenihan (WIT) 
3. Conor Nolan (IADT) 
4. Mark Mulvany (IT Sligo) 
5. Niall O'Connor (Maynooth) 
6. Cian Kidney (UCC) 
7. Roy O'Neill (IT Sligo) 
8. Darren O'Brien (UCC) 
9. Jamie Cronin (UCC) 
10. Padraig O'Dubhshlaine (DIT) 
11. Jim McKee (Ulster) 
12. Glenn Austin (WIT) 
13. Conor Ringland (TCD) 
14. Andrew Gorman (DKIT) 
15. Conor McGowan (IADT) 
16. Ronan Molloy (DKIT) 
17. Aaron King (DKIT) 
18. Conor Fitzgerald (TCD) 
19. Tommy Leahy (TCD) 
20. Gerrard O'Neill (DIT).