Spanish Point on track for back-to-back AIG Pierce Purcell wins
Spanish Point celebrating their AIG Pierce Purcell win in 2013. Can they do it again? Picture: Thos Caffrey /

Spanish Point celebrating their AIG Pierce Purcell win in 2013. Can they do it again? Picture: Thos Caffrey /

Reigning champions Spanish Point are one match away from defending the AIG Pierce Purcell Shield after booking their place in the All-Ireland Final, writes the GUI.

The Munster champions cruised through their semi-final encounter against Enniscrone, winning the first two matches comfortably before Fergal Hehir and Martin Glenny secured the decisive point in game four with a 5&3 win against Richie Cloonan and Jack Ruane.

The Clare men will face a familiar foe in Friday's final. Ulster champions Rossmore will be gunning for revenge having lost out to Spanish Point in last year's semi-finals. Rossmore booked their place in the decider following a 4-1 win against Coollattin. Gerry McMahon and Rory McDonnell secured the decisive point for Eugene McGinnity's side with a par on 17 in game one.

“I think our experience told today,” said McGinnity. “We have Spanish Point to play again, which is going to be tough. We've a lot of hurt and we're going to come back on it. They're very strong, they've a younger team than us but hopefully it's the old dog for the hard road.”

It was only 12 months ago that the Monaghan club were toasting their first ever Ulster pennant and now they are within touching distance of a maiden All-Ireland triumph.

“It's been a four-year journey,” said McGinnity. “We were beaten in the Ulster final three years ago and then we won it last year. We've put a lot of effort in the last three years.”

AIG Pierce Purcell Shield Semi Finals

Spanish Point 4, Enniscrone 1 (Enniscrone names first)

  1. Kevin Hayes & Damian Sexton bt John Rush & Jim Rickard 7/6; 

  2. Evan Talty & Mervin Hehir bt Kenny McGrath & Eugene O'Doherty 6/5; 

  3. Aiden Sexton & Stephen Guilfoyle halved with John Griffin & Jim Bowe; 

  4. Fergal Hehir & Martin Glenny bt Richie Cloonan & Jack Ruane 5/3; 

  5. Eric Murphy & Niall halved with Pat Ruane & Padraig Tighe

Rossmore 4 Coollattin 1 (Rossmore names first)

  1. Gerry McMahon & Rory McDonnell bt John Byrne & James Harte 2/1; 

  2. Padraig Trappe & Brendan Casey bt Michael O'Neill & Owen Coleman 5/3; 

  3. Adrian Trappe & Alan Finnegan bt Declan Traynor & Paul Tyrrell 4/3; 

  4. Bernard Gilbane & Dermot McMahon halved with Michael Shortall & Jim Cullen; 

  5. John McKenna & Malachy Deery halved with Joe Murphy & John Thompson

Friday 19th September

AIG Pierce Purcell Shield Final

10.30am — Spanish Point v Rossmore (Spanish Point names first)

  1. Kevin Hynes & Damian Sexton v Bernard Gilbane & Dermot McMahon;
  2. Evan Talty & Mervin Hehir v Gerry McMahon & Rory McDonnell;
  3. Fergal Hehir & Martin Glenny v Padraig Trappe & Brendan Casey;
  4. Aiden Sexton & Stephen Guilfoyle v Adrian Trappe & Alan Finnegan;
  5. Eric Murrihy & Niall Heeney v John McKenna & Malachy Deery.

AIG Jimmy Bruen Shield Semi Finals

12.00pm — Lisselan v Strandhill (Lisselan names first)

  1. Leo Hassett & Andrew Whelton v Robbie Henneberry & Ronnie Conlon;
  2. Paul Corcoran & Richard Fitton v Peter McDonnell & Ciaran Henry;
  3. Raymond Hayes & Paschal Hayes v David Lindsay & Tristan Probst;
  4. Donnacha Crowley & Richard Fleming v Noel Tivnan & Brian Henry;
  5. Eoin Ryan & Cathal Kirby v John Stewart & Dave Hannigan

12.50am — Strabane v Waterford (Strabane names first)

  1. Conor McCool & Liam Curry v Gary Dunphy & Pat Murphy;
  2. Frankie Gallagher & Andrew Connolly v Paul Mackey & John Hale;
  3. Kevin Connolly & Declan Devine v John Phelan & Michael Wall;
  4. Damian McGranaghan & Shay Callaghan v Barry Griffin & Chris Hoban;
  5. Gary Duffy & Ciaran Duffy v Matt Holohan & Eamonn Rice.

Copy and results courtesy GUI/AIG