Flanagan defies wind to lead Irish Youths by two

Sean Flanagan (Co. Sligo) on the 14th tee during round one of the Irish Youths Amateur Close Championship at Ardglass Golf Club on Wednesday 27th August 2014. Picture: Thos Caffrey / www.golffile.ie

County Sligo's Sean Flanagan produced a sensational performance on a windswept Ardglass to lead the first round of the Irish Youths Amateur Close Championship, writes the GUI.

Flanagan had two birdies and four bogeys in a two-over 72 to lead the field by two shots, with his former Irish Boys Home Internationals team-mate David Carey among the chasing pack at four over.

Photo gallery — Detailed scoreboard

Carey, a member of the Carton House team that won the All-Ireland title at Ardglass on Tuesday was joined on 74 by The Island's Niall Foley, Cairndhu's Neil McKinstry, Castlerock's  Andrew Mulholland and Esker Hills' Alan Lowry, who is looking to go one better than his third place finish in this event last year.

Irish Youths Amateur Close Championship, Ardglass Golf Club, Par 72

Wednesday 27th August 2014

Round 1 Scores (CSS 73 R/O)

72 Sean Flanagan (Co. Sligo)

74 David Carey (Carton House), Niall Foley (The Island), Neil McKinstry (Cairndhu), Andrew Mulholland (Castlerock), Alan Lowry (Esker Hills)

75 Alex Gleeson (Castle), Chris Johnston (Perranporth), Darragh Flynn (Carton House), Ronan Mullarney (Galway), Jamie Stothers (Tandragee)

76 Kyle Mccarron (North West), Thomas Mulligan (Laytown & Bettystown)

77 Ross Steedman (Courtown), Ben Graham (Scrabo), Ted Collins (Dun Laoghaire), Peter Kerr (Royal Portrush), Matthew McClean (Balmoral)

78 Bill Murray (Waterford Castle), Michael Burke (Ballinrobe), Rory Williamson (Holywood), Liam Harnett (Milltown), Eoghan O'Donovan (Craddockstown)

79 Matthew Murphy (Clandeboye), Jack McDonnell (Forrest Little.), Craig Melvin (Corrstown), Ben Murray (Waterford Castle), Tommy O'Driscoll (Ring Of Kerry), Harry Scott (Castle)

80 Jamie Fletcher (Warrenpoint), Owen Crooks (Bushfoot), Liam Grehan (Mullingar), Adam Mulhall (Ardglass), Conor Coyne (Youghal), Stuart Bleakley (Shandon Park), Cian Dullaghan (Greenore)

81 Marc Nolan (Delgany), Mark MacGrath (Limerick), Andrew Keenan (Dundalk), Dominic Pollock (Belvoir Park), James McVicker (Knock), Peter McKeever (Castle), James Hewitt (Tandragee)

82 Mark Kerrigan (Old Conna), Luke Cummins (West Waterford), Luke Robinson (Bundoran), Evan Farrell (Ardee), Jake Whelan (Newlands), Dan Hinds (City of Derry), Dale Jackson (Massereene), Colin Woodroofe (Blainroe), Blane Lynch (Ballinrobe)

83 Ross McKeever (Castle), Eoin O'Brien (Clontarf), Aaron D'arcy (Ballinrobe), Ryan O'Doherty (Enniscrone), Brian Crowdle (Kilkenny)

84 Jack Walsh (Castle), Keith Coyle (Athlone), James Lindsay (North West), Gary Ward (Kinsale)

85 Stephen Kinch (Hollystown), David Byrne (Greystones), Rob Brazill (Naas), Alan Fahy (Bray)

86 Cathal Butler (Kinsale), Sean O’Connor (Carton House), Alec Myles (Newlands), Daniel Brennan (Shannon)

87 Jamie Dunne (Borris), Darragh Fitzgerald (Limerick), Devin Morley (Oughterard)

88 Jason Murphy (Warrenpoint), Karl Eccles (Clandeboye)

NR Scott Campbell (Greenacres), Eoghan McKeever (Castle)

Round 2 Draw 

  1. 08:00: Dominic Pollock (2) Belvoir Park; Luke Cummins (2) West Waterford 
  2. 08:11: Jack McDonnell (1) Forrest Little; Keith Coyle (2) Athlone 
  3. 08:22: Ben Graham (3) Scrabo; Michael Burke (2) Ballinrobe; Gary Ward (2) Kinsale
  4. 08:33: Peter McKeever (2) Castle; Darragh Fitzgerald (3) Limerick; Aaron D'arcy (2) Ballinrobe
  5. 08:44: Ross McKeever (3) Castle; Andrew Keenan (3) Dundalk; Sean O’Connor (2) Carton House
  6. 08:55: Scott Campbell (2) Greenacres; Blane Lynch (2) Ballinrobe; Neil McKinstry (1) Cairndhu
  7. 09:06: Dale Jackson (2) Massereene; Mark MacGrath (2) Limerick; Ben Murray (1) Waterford Castle
  8. 09:17: Dan Hinds (1) City of Derry; Matthew Murphy (1) Clandeboye; Andrew Mulholland (2) Castlerock
  9. 09:28: Cathal Butler (2) Kinsale; David Byrne (1) Greystones; Adam Mulhall (2) Ardglass
  10. 09:39: Bill Murray (2) Waterford Castle; Eoin O'Brien (1) Clontarf; Liam Grehan (1) Mullingar
  11. 09:50: Ryan O'Doherty (1) Enniscrone; Rory Williamson (1) Holywood; Craig Melvin (1) Corrstown
  12. 10:01: Mark Kerrigan (1) Old Conna; Rob Brazill (1) Naas; Eoghan McKeever (2) Castle
  13. 10:12: Alec Myles (1) Newlands; Owen Crooks (1) Bushfoot; Harry Scott (2) Castle
  14. 10:23: Eoghan O'Donovan (1) Craddockstown; James Hewitt (2) Tandragee; Ross Steedman (2) Courtown
  15. 10:34: Brian Crowdle (2) Kilkenny; Darragh Flynn (1) Carton House; Stuart Bleakley (1) Shandon Park
  16. 10:45: Colin Woodroofe (2) Blainroe; Jack Walsh (1) Castle; Jason Murphy (3) Warrenpoint
  17. 10:56: Evan Farrell (0) Ardee; Alan Fahy (1) Bray; Peter Kerr (1) Royal Portrush
  18. 11:07: Thomas Mulligan (1) L’town & B’town; Jamie Stothers (1) Tandragee; Jamie Fletcher (1) Warrenpoint
  19. 11:18: Kyle Mccarron (0) North West; Niall Foley (0) The Island; Stephen Kinch (0) Hollystown
  20. 11:29: Daniel Brennan (0) Shannon; Marc Nolan (0) Delgany; James McVicker (1) Knock
  21. 11:40: Tommy O'Driscoll (0) Ring Of Kerry; Devin Morley (0) Oughterard; Liam Harnett (0) Milltown
  22. 11:51: Luke Robinson (2) Bundoran; Karl Eccles (2) Clandeboye; Cian Dullaghan (1) Greenore
  23. 12:02: Conor Coyne (-0) Youghal; David Carey (-0) Carton House; Jake Whelan (-0) Newlands
  24. 12:13: Ronan Mullarney (-1) Galway; Sean Flanagan (-1) Co. Sligo; Alan Lowry (-1) Esker Hills
  25. 12:24: James Lindsay (-1) North West; Chris Johnston (-1) Perranporth; Ted Collins (1) Dun Laoghaire
  26. 12:35: Matthew McClean (-1) Balmoral; Jamie Dunne (2) Borris; Alex Gleeson (-2) Castle