Three-way tie in Cork Pro-Am

Danny Sugrue. Picture: Thos Caffrey /

Brendan McGovern, Daniel Sugrue and Neil O'Briain battled blustery conditions at Cork Golf Club to finish top of the pile at the Etihad Airways Cork Pro-Am.

O'Briain is making a habit of winning Etihad Airways events. The 28-year-old Old Conna professional won the Sprint event at the European Club in April and the Malahide Pro-Am in early June.

He made a solid start to his round yesterday, collecting a birdie at the par five second as he went to the turn in one under 35. He added another birdie at the 11th, dropped a shot at the 14th but finished strongly with another birdie at the par four 17th.

McGovern went to the turn in level par 36 with a birdie at the third, offset by a dropped shot at the seventh. The Headfort professional was more controlled on the back nine, with seventh pars complimented with birdies at the 13th and 15th.

Of the trio, Sugrue will probably feel that he let a golden opportunity get away. The 36-year-old made a blistering start to his round, getting to four under par after six holes.

His momentum was halted somewhat with dropped shots at the ninth and 10th but the Killarney professional bounced back with birdies at the 11th and 12th to grab control of the event once again.

Unfortunately, his chances of victory were ended by a poor finish as he dropped shots at the 15th and 18th.

In the amateur competition, Waterville's Liam Higgins made it a family affair, guiding his team of Tom Higgins, Ronan Higgins and Liam Higgins Jnr to the title with 93 points. Monkstown's Cian McNamara and his team of Denis O'Briain, James Keane and Vincent Meade finished second on 90 points.

Etihad Airways Cork Pro-Am, Cork Golf Club

1 Brendan McGovern (Headfort GC) 70

1 Daniel Sugrue (Killarney Golf & FC) 70

1 Neil O'Briain (Old Conna GC) 70

4 Kenny Fahey (GUI National Academy 72

5 Padraig Dooley (Drive Golf Performance Limited) 73

5 Graeme Dunlea (Adare Manor Hotel & Golf Resort) 73

7 Daniel Crowley (Fota Island GC) 74

7 Peter Jones (Coollattin GC) 74

7 Wayne O'Callaghan (Fernhill Golf & CC) 74

Amateur results

1 Liam Higgins 93

2 Cian McNamara 90

3 Ian Colleran 89

4 Joe Dillon 88

4 Daniel Sugrue 88

6 John Dwyer 87

6 Neil O'Briain 87