Selfridge can go back-to-back in the North

Chris Selfridge. 

Moyola Park's Chris Selfridge remain on course to become the first player to retain the Cathedral Eye sponsored North of Ireland Championship since Paddy Gribben in 1999 with two convincing wins at Royal Portrush.

On a day when Headfort's Rory McNamara crashed out in the first round to James Tisdale by 2 and 1 and leading qualifier Daniel Holland, Irish Close winner John Ross Galbraith and top player Gary McDermott lost in the afternoon to Darragh Coughlan (19th), Tom Gandy and Simon Bryan respectively, the majority of the big guns are still alive and kicking.

Reeve Whitson looks dangerous at the top of the draw while Cormac Sharvin, Robin Dawson, Dermot McElroy, Richard Bridges and East of Ireland winner Colm Campbell will all be keen to pick up the coveted silverware.

North of Ireland Amateur Open 2014, Royal Portrush

Second round

First round