Smyth leads Irish Seniors Close

Co Louth's Val Smyth leads the Irish Seniors Close in Tullamore. Picture: Thos Caffrey /

County Louth's Val Smyth fired a one under 69 to grab a one shot lead after the first round of the Tourism Malaysia sponsored Irish Seniors Close Championship at Tullamore.

The Baltray veteran leads from Courtown's Neville Steedman and the reigning Irish Seniors Open Champion Adrian Morrow from Portmarnock.

Clontarf's Turlough Considine is two shots back on one over with Maurice Kelly, John Mitchell and David Conway tied for fifth on two over.

The top 40 and ties after today's second round will qualify for Friday's final round. Three-time winner Gareth McGimpsey did not take part.

Irish Seniors Close Championship, at Tullamore Golf Club

Sponsored by Tourism Malaysia

First Round

69 Val Smyth (Co. Louth)

70 Neville Steedman (Courtown), Adrian Morrow (Portmarnock)

71 Turlough Considine (Clontarf)

72 Maurice Kelly (Naas), John Mitchell (Tramore), David Conway (Portmarnock)

73 Donal O'Donovan (Bandon), Peter Rogers (Dundalk), Peter Cowley (Cork), John L Hughes (Woodbrook), Jim McVeigh (Carlow)

74 Shane Magee (Lurgan), Bert Burke (Moate), Richard McDowell (Royal Belfast)

75 Declan Corcoran (Thurles), Adrian Wynne (Strandhill), Alan Lilley (Ballyclare), Nigel Duke (Killiney), Barry O'Leary (Greystones)

76 Michael Quirke (Doneraile), Greg Murphy (K Club), Kevin Murray (Tramore), Gerry Reeves (Limerick), David Walpole (Milltown), Liam Doran (Ardee), Richard Brooker (Skerries)

77 Liam MacNamara (Rosslare), Liam Horgan (The Heath), Billy Donlon (Birr), Tom Cleary (Cork), Eddie Condren (Scarke), John Carroll (Bandon), Sean Hosty (Galway), Paul Cooley (Portstewart)

78 Jack Dempsey (Royal Curragh), Mick Gaynor (Co. Meath), Marcus Conroy (Galway), Kevin Sheehy (Athlone)

79 Peter Murphy (Carlow), Michael Coote (Tralee), Terry Lilly (Slade Valley), Enda McMenamin (Ballybofey & Stranorlar), Ian Smyth (Clandeboye), Garry Campbell (Greystones), Michael Darcy (Oughterard)

80 Niall Finnegan (Gort), Rory Timlin (Galway), Mervyn Eager (Lucan), Noel Mannion (Dun Laoghaire), Michael O Brien (Co. Louth), Jimmy Mccarthy (Mannan Castle), Dermot Morris (Limerick)

81 Tony Hayes (K Club), George Mellerick (Fota Island), Mick Ahern (Skerries), Brendan McDonnell (K Club)

82 Brendan O'Malley (The Royal Dublin), Rory Fitzgerald (Tramore), John Cuffe (Monkstown), Steve Prendergast (The Royal Dublin), Larry Cushen (The Heath)

83 Neil Kilgallon (European), David Sheedy (Lahinch), Paul Fogarty (Moate), Richard Cotter (Delgany), Phillip Clifford (Kilrush)

84 Gerry O Keeffe (Waterford), Gerry Phelan (Macreddin), Keith Lapsley (Dunfanaghy), Seamus Doherty (Ballyliffin), Alistair Campbell (Massereene), Michael F Galvin (Limerick), Hugh Smyth (Mourne), Paul Hautz (Delgany), Matt Donohue (Portumna)

85 John Cullen (Esker Hills), Michael Foley (Faithlegg), Martin Higgins (Claremorris)

86 Jan Gilbert (Malone), Pat Lynch (Slade Valley), Tony Goode (Lucan)

87 Patrick Harrington (Muskerry), Des Egan (Loughrea), Robert Ryland (Birr)

88 John Houlihan (Dooks), Jody Gilhooly (Edmondstown)

92 Kieran O'Mahony (Galway)

DQ Alistair Smith (Blainroe)