Ryan and Bolger lead Irish Club Professional Championship

Kilkenny's Jimmy Bolger. Picture: Thos Caffrey / www.golffile.ie

Cahir Park's David Ryan and Kilkenny's Jimmy Bolger have a narrow advantage heading into the second and final day of the PGA Irish Club Professional event in association with The Down Syndrome Centre at Arklow Golf Club.

The pair carded rounds of one over 70 to lead Headfort's Brendan McGovern, Mullingar's James Quinlivan and Monkstown's Cian McNamara by a shot.

The early starters were hampered by persistent rain which contributed to some high scores however, defending champion, Brian McElhinney of Foyle Golf Centre, stayed in touch with a four over par round of 73.

Ryan has performed well in the Etihad Airways Sprint series this year and yesterday he managed his game well recording 15 pars, two bogeys and a birdie at the par three seventh.

Bolger, meanwhile, went to the turn in two under 31 following birdies at six and seven but a bogey at the 11th and a double at the par five 16th saw him join Ryan at the head of affairs.

McGovern, winner of the Pro-Am on Tuesday, endured a roller-coaster back-nine that featured just two pars on his way to a two over par 71. The Headfort professional went to the turn in one under 32 but a bogey on 10 was followed by three birdies, another bogey and two double-bogeys.

Play is scheduled to get under way today (Thursday) at 7.30am and with 17 players within four shots of the lead it's anyone's guess who will come through to claim the €1,200 first prize.

PGA Irish Club Professional Tournament, in association with The Down Syndrome Centre

Day One – Leading Scores

T 1 David Ryan (Cahir Park GC) 70, Jimmy Bolger (Kilkenny GC) 70

T 3  Brendan McGovern (Headfort GC) 71, James Quinlivan (Mullingar GC) 71, Cian McNamara (Monkstown GC) 71

T 6 Peter Jones (Coollattin GC)  72 ,Mark O'Mahony (Titleist National Fitting Centre) 72, Ciaran Molloy (Blackwood Golf Centre) 72, Donal Gleeson (Old Conna GC) 72

T 10 Patrick Small (Galway GC) 73, Hazel Kavanagh (Carr Golf Services) 73, Michael McDermott (Pure Golf Leopardstown) 73, John Kelly (St Margaret's Golf & CC) 73, Brian McElhinney (Foyle Golf Centre) 73, Shaun Donnelly (Castle Hume GC) 73

T16 Iarlaith Keane (Balcarrick GC) 74, Sean O'Donoghue (Glasson Hotel & GC) 74,  Padraig Dooley (Drive Golf Performance Ltd ) 74,  Nigel Howley (Balbriggan GC) 74