O'Driscoll third in Wales but Curtis Cup in the balance for Ryan and Grant

Ballybunion's Emma O'Driscoll finished tied third in the Welsh Ladies Open Stroke Play

Ballybunion's Emma O'Discoll finished tied third in the Welsh Ladies Open Stroke Play Championship but it remains to be seen if Eilidh Briggs victory at Prestantyn will leave Casltetroy's Chloe Ryan and Lisburn's Paula Grant relying on the two selectors picks for a Curtis Cup call up on Tuesday.

The top four in the World Amateur Golf Ranking qualify automatically along the top two from the LGU Order of Merit, not already in the WAGR selection, and two picks.

It appears certain that the top-four of Ireland's Stephanie Meadow and English trio Georgia Hall, Annabel Dimmock and Bronte Law will qualify automatically from the world rankings.

But the other four places will not be decided until the LGU receives the updated WAGR and the LGU Order of Merit numbers on Tuesday, the day the eight-strong side to face the USA in St Louis in June is set to be be named.

Only when the LGU has received all the data from St Andrews will they know who has claimed the two automatic spots from the LGU Order of Merit and can then decide who are the candidates for the two picks.

Before play started in Wales, England's Gabriella Cowley and Ireland's Ryan were set to claim the two spots on offer from the LGU Order of Merit.

Cowley finished eighth in Wales, which should assure her place but with Ryan finishing 36th and Grant 19th, both could be overtaken by Scotland's Briggs, who closed with a one-under 74 to win by one from Dimmock on nine under par. Scores

"I've no idea where I stand in the rankings now," Grant said after a level par 75 gave her a share of 19th in Wales. "I'll just have to wait until Tuesday. So fingers crossed."

Lurgan's Niamh McSherry (73) tied for ninth on four under in Wales with Ryan tied 36th on six over after a 77.

Amy Farrell (77) and Mary Doyle (80) were 38th on seven over with Olivia Mehaffey 49th on 10 over after an 82.

LGU Order of Merit, before Welsh Ladies (Welsh result

  • Gabriella Cowley 8th
  • Chloe Ryan T36
  • Paula Grant T19
  • Alexandra Peters T27
  • Meghan MacLaren T9
  • Eilidh Briggs 1st
  • Sarah-Jane Boyd T27
  • Inci Mehmet T13
  • Chloe Williams T27
  • Olivia Mehaffey T49