Munster Strokeplay looks wide open

Lucan's Richie O'Donovan is one of the favourites for the Munster Strokeplay at Cork Golf Club this weekend. Picture: Thos Caffrey /

Corks' Gary O'Flaherty won't be far away in the Munster Strokeplay. Picture: Thos Caffrey /

Three-time winner Niall Gorey might be the bookies' favourite but any one of a dozen played could win this weekend's Munster Stroke Play Championship at magnificent Cork Golf Club.

Gorey, now playing out of Palmerstown Stud in Dublin, missed the West due to work commitments but Pat Murray, recent Douglas Scratch Cup winner Alan Thomas and Cork's Gary O'Flaherty are just three of a host of potential victors at Little Island.

Claremorris' Stephen Healy, Portmarnock's James Fox and defending champion Kieran McCarthy from Kinsale are also more than capable of landing the silverware, as is Royal Dublin's Jeff Hopkins, who showed signs of a return to form at Rosses Point.


Munster Stroke Play Championship 3rd & 4th May 2014

07:30 12:30 K Crowley Fota Island E Murphy Cork R Twomey Muskerry 
07:38 12:38 S Barry Fota Island A Harrington Cork D McCarthy Bandon 
07:46 12:46 D Hallissey Muskerry B Kelleher Cork E Long Fota Island 
07:54 12:54 D Burke Lahinch E Hannon Kanturk I O'Flynn Cork 
08:02 13:02 I Spillane Mallow P O'Hara Kilkenny J Hopkins The Royal Dublin 
08:10 13:10 D Coghlan Portmarnock E Leahy Thurles M Nolan Delgany 
08:18 13:18 F Deasy Cork D Hogan Killeen House S Walsh Portmarnock 
08:26 13:26 J Greene Portmarnock D O'Donovan Muskerry R Mullarney Galway 
08:42 13:42 P Lyons Cork B McCormack Thurles A McCormack Newcastle West 
08:50 13:50 A McDaid Douglas P Neville Bearna R Kennelly Portmarnock 
08:58 13:58 J O'Sullivan Castletroy J Hickey Cork S Whooley Muskerry 
09:06 14:06 T Cleary Cork D Holland Castle D McInerney Lahinch 
09:14 14:14 S Healy Carton House N Gorey Palmerstown Stud J Fox Portmarnock 
09:22 14:22 P Murray Limerick S McSweeney Cork K McCarthy Castlemartyr 
09:38 14:38 G O'Flaherty Cork S Hogan Nenagh M Collins Killeen Castle 
09:46 14:46 S McGlynn Carton House M Shanahan Castlemartyr S Bryan Delgany 
09:54 14:54 B Anderson The Royal Dublin C Carroll Shandon Park A Thomas Dungarvan 
10:02 15:02 K Lynch Skibbereen D McMahon Tralee B Daly Edmonstown 
10:10 15:10 P O'Connor Malahide C Coyne Youghal N McGlynn Carton House 
10:18 15:18 E Farrell Ardee B Best Rathmore S Loftus Lahinch 
10:26 15:26 A Grant Dundalk R Lester Hermitage D Brennan Shannon 
10:34 15:34 R Knightly The Royal Dublin M Richards Roganstown E Griffin Waterford 
10:42 15:42 G O'Connor Malahide T Fay Rush S Poucher Limerick 
10:50 15:50 D O'Sullivan Youghal T O'Rourke Nenagh C Kenny Royal Curragh 
10:58 15:58 C Butler Kinsale E O'Donnell Tralee J O'Mahony Cork 

Past winners

  • 2006 Connor Doran, Banbridge
  • 2007 Niall Gorey, Lee Valley
  • 2008 Niall Gorey, Lee Valley
  • 2009 Pat Murray, Limerick
  • 2010 Rory Leonard, Banbridge
  • 2011 Niall Gorey, Muskerry
  • 2012 Brian Casey, Headfort
  • 2013 Kieran McCarthy, Kinsale