O'Malley and McBride win Hilary medals

Sutton Golf Club. Picture via suttongolfclub.org

The final event of the 2014 RaboDirect Hilary season took place at its spiritual home of Sutton Golf Club on Friday last.

A number of players were in contention for the Gold and Silver Medals (awarded to the players with the best three nett and gross scores respectively) at the splendid nine-hole links at Cush Point in North County Dublin.

Sean Ryan led the way with a 1 under par 69- the scratch man from Royal Dublin beating St. Anne's Paul Behan on the break of a tie to capture his maiden victory in the society.

Local club professional, Conor Russell, used his intimate knowledge of the challenging links to post the best gross score on the day of 71.

It proved to be a good day for the Royal Dublin Club as Darragh O'Malley held onto his tender lead to win his first Hilary Gold Medal with none of the chasing pack posting any significant scores in Sutton. O'Malley's consistency throughout the series was a key factor in his victory.

The Island's Paul McBride won the Silver Medal - a year after his club mate, Walker Cup star Gavin Moynihan won the same title.

The Hilary will start its 62nd Season in February next year and enquiries for membership should be directed to hilarygolf@gmail.com

Hilary Golf Society, Sutton GC

1st Sean Ryan (scr) Royal Dublin 69

2nd Paul Behan (1) St. Annes 69

Gross C Russell (Sutton) 71

Gold Medal Winner: Darragh O'Malley ( Royal Dublin)

Silver Medal Winner: Paul McBride ( The Island)