Waterpark completes Schools double for Waterford

Nenagh Golf Club

County Waterford followed in Mayo's footsteps by winning both the All Ireland Senior and Junior Schools Championships this year.

Just 12 months after Mayo schools did the double, Waterpark College emulated the feat of newly crowned Senior champions De La Salle to capture the Irish Schools Junior Championship at Nenagh.

Waterpark had a three-shot margin of victory in the end, but it all depended on their anchor man, David Walsh, who carded a 71 to edge them clear of St Nathy's, Ballaghadereen, who had assumed the clubhouse lead thanks to Patrick Callagahan's 70.

Leinster champions St Colmcille's, Knocklyon finished in third place a further two shots behind St Nathy's, while Ballyclare High School, who had earlier defended their Ulster title, finished fourth.

Irish Schools Junior Championship 2014, Nenagh Golf Club
Wednesday 23rd April 2014 CSS 74 Par 72

  1. Waterpark College 148  — Jack Power (Waterford Castle) 79; Zack Daly (Faithlegg) 77; David Walsh (Waterford Castle) 71
  2. St Nathy’s, Ballaghadereen 151 — Ronan Cahill (Castlerea) 81; Patrick Callaghan (Castle Dargan) 70; Domhnall Forrest (Ballaghadereen) 90
  3. St Colmcille’s, Knocklyon 153 — Eoin Dennehy (Castlewarden) 76; Robert Byrne (Newlands) 77; Conor O’Donoghue (Castlewarden) 78
  4. Ballyclare High School 157 — Reece Black (Cairndhu) 76; Andrew Hill (Ballyclare) 81; Stephen McCalmont (Ballyclare) 84