Palmer Cup call up for Paul Dunne
Paul Dunne (Greystones) en route to victory in the East of Ireland Amateur Open at Co Louth Golf club last year. Picture: Thos Caffrey /

Paul Dunne (Greystones) en route to victory in the East of Ireland Amateur Open at Co Louth Golf club last year.
Picture: Thos Caffrey /

Greystones' Paul Dunne has been named in the European team to take on the United States in the Palmer Cup at Walton Heath from June 26-28.

The University of Alabama Birmingham star was a committee pick alongside Scotland's Grant Forrest of San Diego. 

Jon Rahm of Arizona State (Spain), UCF’s Ricardo Gouveia (Portugal), Erik Oja of Arizona (Sweden), Illinois’ Thomas Detry (Belgium), Pep Angles of Central Arkansas (Spain), and Houston’s James Ross (Scotland) were the six European players selected via the Palmer Cup Ranking.

Louis Tomlinson of UCLAN Myerscough (England) qualified for Team Europe by winning The R&A Foundation Scholars Tournament while Jack McDonald of Stirling University in Scotland was Andrew Coltart’s coach’s pick.

Cameron Wilson of Stanford led the six US players selected by the Palmer Cup Ranking. He was joined from the ranking by Georgia Tech’s Ollie Schniederjans, Robby Shelton of Alabama, Oklahoma State’s Wyndham Clark, Brandon Hagy of California and Southern California’s Rico Hoey.

Committee selections were Bryson Dechambeau of SMU, Oglethorpe’s Anthony Maccaglia and Alabama’s Trey Mullinax. Stewart Jolly of LSU was coach Steve Desimone’s coach’s pick.

For more information visit

United States

Palmer Cup Ranking Selections

Cameron Wilson, Stanford

Ollie Schniederjans, Georgia Tech

Robby Shelton, Alabama

Wyndham Clark, Oklahoma State

Brandon Hagy, California

Rico Hoey, Southern California

Commitee Selections

Bryson Dechambeau, SMU

Anthony Maccaglia, Oglethorpe

Trey Mullinax, Alabama

Coach’s Pick

Stewart Jolly, LSU


Head Coach - Steve Desimone, California

Assistant Coach - Ryan Murphy, Texas



Palmer Cup Ranking Selections

Jon Rahm, Arizona State - Spain

Ricardo Gouveia, UCF - Portugal

Erik Oja, Arizona - Sweden

Thomas Detry, Illinois - Belgium

Pep Angles, Central Arkansas - Spain

James Ross, Houston - Scotland

Commitee Selections

Paul Dunne, UAB - Ireland

Grant Forrest, San Diego - Scotland

The R&A Scholars’ Tournament Champion

Louis Tomlinson, UCLAN Myerscough - England

Coach’s Pick

Jack McDonald, Stirling - Scotland



Head Coach - Andrew Coltart - Scotland

Assistant Coach - Phil Rowe, Stanford - England