Le Blanc top boy in Peter McEvoy Trophy chase
Kevin Le Blanc, picture by Pat Cashman /  www.cashmanphotography.ie

Kevin Le Blanc, picture by Pat Cashman / www.cashmanphotography.ie

The Island's Kevin Le Blanc is the leading Irish player at the halfway stage of the prestigious Peter McEvoy Trophy at Copt Heath.

The two-time Leinster Boys Under 15 champion added a one over 72 to his morning 71 to go into the final 36 holes in seventh place, eight shots behind runaway leader Haydn McCullen.

Scoreboard PDF / Web / Draw 

McCullen shot rounds of 66 and 69 to lead by four strokes on seven under 135 from compatriot Bradley Moore with Matty Lamb (140) and Marco Penge (141) the only other players in red figures.

Hermitage's Rowan Lester is 11th on two over 144 after following a first round 67 with a 77 with David Carey of Carton House (71-74) lying 14th on 145.

Mallow's James Sugrue (71-76/147) is 23rd with Eoin Leonard from Killiney/Wentworth (79-77/156) in 60th.

Shandon Park's Cameron Mills, who opened with an 81, withdrew.

The Peter McEvoy Trophy, which was first played in 1981, has quickly established itself as the early season Junior Major. 

Previous winners include: 1983 – Peter Baker, 1991 – Lee Westwood; 1992 – Brian Davis; 1993 – Steve Webster; 1998 – Justin Rose; 2004 – John Parry; 2011 – Nathan Kimsey (inc a new course record 61 by Dermot McElroy) and 2012 – Gavin Moynihan - also Irish Amateur Champion 2012.

Luke Donald, Paul Casey and Oliver Fisher are all previous contestants.