Moynihan clinches winning point as Europe retains Bonallack Trophy

Gavin Moynihan clinched the winning point as Europe retained the Sir Michael Bonallack Trophy despite losing the session 7-5 to Asia in Bangalore on Friday.

Leading 12 ½ - 7 ½ overnight, the side led by non-playing captain Andy Morgan triumphed 17 ½ - 14 ½ at Karnataka Golf Association in Bangalore for its fourth successive victory and its sixth in eight editions since the event was first played in 1998.

Australia's Geoff Drakeford beat England's Ashley Chesters 1 up in the opening match and while Ryan Evans hit back with a 6 and 4 win over Taylor MacDonald, Asia then won the next two matches with Nam-hun Kim and Soo-min Lee defeating Mariano Galiano and Albert Eckhardt respectively by 2 and 1.

Robbie Van West of the Netherlands put Europe four points in front with a 2 up win over Zecheng Dou but when Germany's Dominic Foos lost 2 and 1 to Jin Cheng, Europe still needed 1 ½ points to retain the title.

James Ross beat Shinichi Mizuno 5 and 3 to leave Europe on the brink and it fell to Moynihan to ensure a European triumph.

The man from The Island was one up after nine against India's Karan Taunk and eventually closed out a 2 and 1 triumph.

Dane Mads Soegaard was the only other European winner from the last four matches on the course, beating Joshua Munn 2 and 1 as Ballymena's Dermot McElroy was beaten 6 and 4 by Kenta Konishi.

Results [PDF - Web]