David Carey (Leinster) driving at the fourth during the 2013 Interprovincial Matches at Lee Valley. Picture by Pat Cashman Surprise victories for Munster and Connacht threw the Boys Interprovincial Championship wide open at Lee Valley, writes the GUI.

Munster cantered to victory against Leinster by 7.5 to 2.5, while Connacht enjoyed almost as big a win over Ulster on a day when the form book was well and truly thrown out the window.

Grey O’Mahony (Munster) driving at the third hole during the 2013 Interprovincial Matches at Lee Valley. Picture by Pat CashmanMunster had been very much in the ascendancy in the foursomes against Leinster and enjoyed the advantage in all three matches for most of the morning.

Paul Tobin and Robin Dawson edged out Paul McBride and Jack Walsh on the final green while James Sugrue and Greg O’Mahony beat David Carey and Rowan Lester 2 and 1.

However, Leinster salvaged something out of the morning session when Alec Myles and Jake Whelan came back from four down at the turn to beat Mark McGrath and Gary Ward on the 18th.

In the other match, Connacht had taken the lead against Ulster by the same margin. Sean Doyle and Ronan Mullarney accounted for Stephen Watts and Gareth Lappin by 4 and 3, while Sean Flanagan and John Igoe beat Jamie Fletcher and Ryan McCarron 2 and 1.

Jordan Hood and Ryan Long beat Jamie Corbett and David Brady by 5 and 4 to leave Ulster a point behind going into the singles.

Both Munster and Connacht maintained their respective momentum in the singles - Munster taking five wins and a half from a possible seven while Connacht took four wins and a half.

Leinster play Ulster while Connacht meet Munster on a final day that is bound to provide thrills and spills.

Paul McBride (Leinster) lifting his ball from a flooded area of the third green during the 2013 Interprovincial Matches at Lee Valley. Picture by Pat CashmanBoys Interprovincial Matches, Lee Valley Golf Club

Wednesday 24 July 2013

All matches off the 10th tee

Munster 7.5 Leinster 2.5 (Munster names first)


Robin Dawson & Paul Tobin beat Paul McBride & Jack Walsh 1 hole;

James Sugrue & Greg O’Mahony beat David Carey & Rowan Lester 2/1;

Mark McGrath & Gary Ward lost to Alec Myles & Jake Whelan 1 hole


Robin Dawson halved with Paul McBride;

James Sugrue beat David Carey 1 hole;

Paul Tobin beat Rowan Lester 1 hole;

Gary Ward beat Eoin Leonard 1 hole;

Bill Murray lost to Alec Myles 4/3;

Greg O’Mahony beat Jake Whelan 5/3;

Mark McGrath beat Jack Walsh 1 hole


Connacht 6.5 Ulster 3.5 (Connacht names first)


Gareth Lappin & Stephen Watts lost to Sean Doyle & Ronan Mullarney 4/3;

Jamie Fletcher & Ryan McCarron lost to John Igoe & Sean Flanagan 2/1;

Jordan Hood & Ryan Long beat Jamie Corbett & David Brady 5/4


Aaron Darcy halved with Jordan Hood;

Ronan Mullarney lost to Gareth Lappin 1 hole;

Sean Flanagan beat Stephen Watts  3/1;

Sean Doyle beat Matthew Kane 3/2;

Jamie Corbett lost to Kyle McCarron 4/3;

John Igoe beat Jamie Fletcher  1 hole;

David Brady beat Ryan Long 1 hole

Draw for Thursday 25 July

Munster v Connacht (Munster names first)

Foursomes (0800 at nine-minute intervals):

Robin Dawson & Paul Tobin v Sean Doyle & Ronan Mullarney

James Sugrue & Greg O’Mahony v John Igoe & Sean Flanagan

Gary Ward & Mark McGrath v Aaron Darcy & David Brady

Singles (1300 at eight-minute intervals)

Greg O’Mahony v Sean Flanagan

Robin Dawson v Ronan Mullarney

James Sugrue v Sean Doyle

Paul Tobin v David Brady

Gary Ward v John Igoe

Bill Murray v Jamie Corbett

Mark McGrath v Aaron Darcy

Leinster v Ulster (Leinster names first)

Foursomes (0836 at nine-minute intervals):

Alec Myles & Jake Whelan v Gareth Lappin & Stephen Watts

David Carey & Eoin Leonard v Ryan McCarron & Matthew Kane

Jack Walsh & Paul McBride v Jordan Hood & Ryan Long

Singles (1300 at eight-minute intervals):

Jack Walsh v Ryan McCarron

Rowan Lester v Jordan Hood

Jake Whelan v Gareth Lappin

Eoin Leonard v Stephen Watts

David Carey v Matthew Kane

Alec Myles v Ryan Long

Paul McBride v Jamie Fletcher