Paul McBride had a good day for Leinster on the opening day of the Boys Interprovincial Matches at Lee Valley. Picture: Pat Cashman Leinster got off to the perfect start in their defence of the Boys Interprovincial Matches against a Connacht side that was looking for its first Boys Interprovincial title since 2001, writes the GUI.

Alec Myles and Jake Whelan led from the front in the foursomes, winning by 5 and 4 against David Brady and Sean Flanagan.

Paul McBride, who was crowned Ulster Boys Open champion last week, partnered Jack Walsh to a 3 and 2 victory over Sean Doyle and Ronan Mullarney, while David Carey and Rowan Lester were victorious by 4 and 3 over Aaron Darcy and John Igoe.

With that three-point advantage they had plenty in the tank in the singles, with victories from McBride, Carey and Myles sealing victory.

Things were much closer-fought between Munster and Ulster.

Ulster had scored two good wins in the top two matches – with Jamie Fletcher and Kyle McCarron beating Robin Dawson and Paul Tobin by 2 and 1 and Stephen Watts and Gareth Lappin enjoying a last-hole victory over Bill Murray and Gary Ward.

However, Lee Valley’s own Greg O’Mahony combined with James Sugrue to defeat Jordan Hood and Ryan Long on the 17th green to leave Munster only one point behind going into the singles.

Still, it was Ulster who found the going better in the afternoon, and wins on the final green from Jordan Hood and Kyle McCarron proved decisive in their victory.

Boys Interprovincial Matches, Lee Valley Golf Club

Tuesday 23 July 2013

All matches off the 10th tee

Leinster 7 Connacht 3 (Leinster names first)


Alec Myles & Jake Whelan beat Sean Flanagan & David Brady 5/4;

Paul McBride & Jack Walsh beat Sean Doyle & Ronan Mullarney 3/2;

David Carey & Rowan Lester beat John Igoe & Aaron Darcy 4/3


Eoin Leonard halved with Sean Flanagan;

Rowan Lester halved with Ronan Mullarney;

Jack Walsh lost to David Brady 3/2;

Paul McBride beat Jamie Corbett 3/2;

David Carey beat Aaron Darcy 3/2;

Jake Whelan lost to John Igoe 2/1;

Alec Myles beat Sean Doyle 2/1


Ulster 6 Munster 4 (Ulster names first)


Kyle McCarron & Jamie Fletcher beat Robin Dawson & Paul Tobin 2/1;

Gareth Lappin & Stephen Watts beat Bill Murray & Gary Ward 1 hole;

Jordan Hood & Ryan Long lost to James Sugrue & Greg O’Mahony 2/1


Matthew Kane lost to Robin Dawson 6/4;

Jamie Fletcher beat Mark McGrath 4/2;

Gareth Lappin lost to James Sugrue 4/3;

Stephen Watts lost to Paul Tobin 1 hole;

Jordan Hood beat Greg O’Mahony 1 hole;

Ryan Long beat Bill Murray 5/3;

Kyle McCarron beat Gary Ward 1 hole



Leinster v Munster (Leinster names first)

Foursomes (0800hrs at nine-minute intervals)

Paul McBride & Jack Walsh v Robin Dawson & Paul Tobin

David Carey & Rowan Lester v James Sugrue & Greg O’Mahony

Alec Myles & Jake Whelan v Mark McGrath & Gary Ward

Singles (1300hrs at eight-minute intervals)

Paul McBride v Robin Dawson

David Carey v James Sugrue

Rowan Lester v Paul Tobin

Eoin Leonard v Gary Ward

Alec Myles v Bill Murray

Jake Whelan v Greg O’Mahony

Jack Walsh v Mark McGrath


Ulster v Connacht (Ulster names first)

Foursomes (1336hrs at nine-minute intervals):

Gareth Lappin & Stephen Watts v Sean Doyle & Ronan Mullarney

Jamie Fletcher & Ryan McCarron v John Igoe & Sean Flanagan

Jordan Hood & Ryan Long v Jamie Corbett & David Brady

Singles (1356hrs at eight-minute intervals):

Jordan Hood v Aaron Darcy

Gareth Lappin v Ronan Mullarney

Stephen Watts v Sean Flanagan

Matthew Kane v Sean Doyle

Kyle McCarron v Jamie Corbett

Jamie Fletcher v John Igoe

Ryan Long v David Brady