Castle Dargan in Co SligoLeinster took a huge step towards retaining the ILGU Interprovincial Matches with a 6-3 win over Munster at Castle Dargan.

Aedin Murphy and Deirdre Smith pipped Munster in the final foursomes match with a birdie on the 17th to give Leinster a 2-1 lead before claiming the singles series 4-2

The Heath’s Mary Doyle came close to recording holes in one at both the 11th and 13th as she beat Jean O’Driscoll 5&4  while Ariana Coyle Diez was seven up before going on to beat Aoife Lowry 4 and 3.

The Maguire twins remained unbeaten as Ulster defeated Connacht in their three foursomes matches before going on to run out 9-0 winners.

Leinster 6 - 3 Munster (1st tee)


Karen Delaney & Maria Dunne lost to Emma O’Driscoll & Laura McCarthy 3&2

Amy Farrell & Carla Reynolds beat Gillian O’Leary & Sarah Cunningham 1up

Aedin Murphy & Deirdre Smith beat Chloe Ryan & Sinead Sexton 2&1


Karen Delaney lost to Chloe Ryan 3&2

Carla Reynolds lost to Emma O’Driscoll 2up

Ariana Coyle Diez beat Aoife Lowry 4&3

Mary Doyle beat Jean O’Driscoll 5&4

Amy Farrell beat Sarah Cunningham 1up

Aedin Murphy beat Sinead Sexton 4&2

Ulster 9 - 0 Connacht (9th tee)


Leona Maguire & Lisa Maguire beat Darragh McGowan & Shannon Burke 5&4

Paula Grant & Jessica Carty beat Clodagh Hopkins & Suzanne Corcoran 6&5

Lucy Simpson & Jessica Ross beat Fiona Moclair & Ann Cassidy 5&4


Leona Maguire beat Niamh Kitching 6&5

Lisa Maguire beat Anne McCormack 3&2

Paula Grant beat Darragh McGowan 8&7

Louise Coffey beat Shannon Burke 5&4

Victoria Bradshaw beat Suzanne Corcoran 5&4

Jessica Ross beat Ann Cassidy 4&2


Points Table (after day 2)

  1. Ulster 1½
  2. Leinster 1½
  3. Munster 1
  4. Connacht 0

Draw for Day 3 - Friday 5th April


Munster -v- Ulster

09:00 Chloe Ryan & Sinead Sexton -v- Leona Maguire & Lisa Maguire

09:10 Emma O’Driscoll & Laura McCarthy -v- Paula Grant & Jessica Carty

09:20 Gillian O’Leary & Sarah Cunningham -v- Lucy Simpson & Jessica Ross

Connacht -v- Leinster

09:00 Darragh McGowan & Shannon Burke -v- Amy Farrell & Carla Reynolds

09:10 Anne McCormack & Niamh Kitching -v- Karen Delaney & Maria Dunne

09:20 Fiona Moclair & Ann Cassidy -v- Aedin Murphy & Deirdre Smith