Slieve Russell counting down to Pro-am weekend

Michelle McGreevy (Director of Golf, Slieve Russell Hotel Golf & Country Club) pictured with (from left) Paudge Tobin (President), Brian Cunningham (Captain) and Tony Walker (General Manager) at the press conference to announce details of the 21st Slieve Russell Hotel Golf & Country Club Pro Am. Picture Pat Cashman/www.cashmanphotography.ieThe Slieve Russell Pro-Am will celebrate its 21st anniversary over a weekend for the first time ever when a top quality field tees it up at the spectacular Co Cavan resort from June 8-9.

First played in 1993, the €25,000, 36-hole event has one of the highest prize funds on the Irish PGA Pro-Am calendar with many top names supporting it over the years including major champion Padraig Harrington and European Tour players Des Smyth, Christy O’Connor Jnr and Eamonn Darcy.

Supported more recently by Damien McGrane, Peter Lawrie and Waterville’s David Higgins, who won it for the third time last year, the tournament is a Pro-Am team competition comprising one professional with three amateur golfers.

Organisers expect more than 40 teams to take part this year.

“We are very grateful to all the Irish PGA Professionals and amateur golfers who take time out of their busy schedules to support this event year after year,” said Tony Walker, General Manager of the Slieve Russell Hotel, Golf & Country Club.

“We look forward to another wonderful event this year which we are delighted to announce will be played over a weekend for the first time ever.”

Michael McCumiskey, Regional Secretary of the PGA in Ireland said: “The Slieve Russell Pro-Am is one of the most successful and popular events on the PGA calendar of activities. We are very much looking forward to visiting the Slieve Russell again with the professionals and amateurs alike.”

Recent winners

2012 - David Higgins (Waterville) -5 (139)
2011 - Peter Lawrie -4 (140)
2010 - David Higgins (Waterville) -12 (132)
2009 - Michael McGeady (North West) -7 (137)
2008 - Robert Giles (Greenore) -6 (138)
2007 - David Higgins (Waterville) -3 (141)
2006 - Damien McGrane -6 (138)
2005 - Stephen Browne -7 (137)
2004 - Philip Walton -11 (133)
2003 - John Dwyer -1 (71)
2002 - Philip Walton Par (144)