Balmoral Golf Club. Ballinrobe Community School made it a Mayo double by clinching the Irish Schools Junior title in Balmoral by a single shot in a dramatic finish, with Colaiste Muire Crosshaven the unlucky runners-up.

Both colleges fought a close battle throughout the day with Good Counsel New Ross finishing a distant third followed by Ballyclare High School in fourth.

Rice College Westport sensationally claimed the Irish Senior Schools title with a clearcut 4-1 win over 2011 champions De La Salle, Waterford at Balmoral on Tuesday.

Irish Schools Junior Championship, Wednesday 24th Aprill 2013

Balmoral Golf Club

Winners - Ballinrobe Community School 215

Dara Jennings (Ballinrobe) 70

Ryan Jennings (Ballinrobe) 76

Patrick Hession (Ballinrobe) 69

Second - Colaiste Muire Crosshaven 216

Fionn Murphy (Monkstown) 66

Josh Hogan (Bantry) 75

Killian Murphy (Monkstown) 75

Third - Good Counsel College New Ross 225

Michael Ryan (New Ross) 72

Ronan Whelan (New Ross) 72

Dylan Farrell (Borris) 81

Fourth - Ballyclare High School 227

Reece Black (Cairndhu) 68

Peter Bonar (Greenacres) 80

Joshua Millar (Ballyclare) 79