Rice College Westport receive the Irish Senior Schools pennant from GUI President Ivor McCandless. Rice College Westport sensationally claimed the Irish Senior Schools title with a clearcut 4-1 win over 2011 champions De La Salle, Waterford at Balmoral.

With a team composed entirely of players from Westport Golf Club, Rice College held a narrow ascendancy from early on in all five matches, which they rarely relinquished throughout the day and went on to win 4-1.

Victories from Jack Healy, Matthew Golden and Sam Gillivan in the top three matches sealed their victory over the Munster champions, who were clearly fatigued following their titanic battle against defending champions Malahide Community School in the morning semi-final.

Rice College, meanwhile, had an equally thrilling victory over Ulster champions Regent House, with Gillivan’s final-hole victory over Clandeboye’s Ryan Corry sealing a 3-2 win.

Irish Schools Senior Championship, Balmoral Golf Club

Rice College bt Regent House 3-2 (Rice College names first)

J Healy (Westport) lost to M Rea (Donaghadee) 2/1

M Golden (Westport) lost to A Clegg (Donaghadee) 5/4
S Gillivan (Westport) beat R Corry (Clandeboye) 1 hole
J Hastings (Westport) beat D Ryan (Mahee) 7/5
J O’Donnell (Westport) beat J Halliday (Scrabo) 4/3

De La Salle Waterford bt Malahide Community School 3-2 (De La Salle names first)

N O’Connell (Waterford Castle) lost to G Moynihan (The Island) 8/7
G Milne (Faithlegg) beat C Purcell (The Island) 6/5
B Murray (Waterford Castle) lost to A Conlon (Malahide) 5/4
D O’Connor (Faithlegg) beat G Lawlor (Beaverstown) at 21st
J Kavanagh (Faithlegg) beat D Brady (Beaverstown) 3/2


Rice College bt De La Salle Waterford 4-1 (Rice College names first)

J Healy (Westport) beat N O’Connell (Waterford Castle) 2/1
M Golden (Westport) beat G Milne (Faithlegg) 2 holes
S Gillivan (Westport) beat B Murray (Waterford Castle) 2/1
J Hastings (Westport) halved with D O’Connor (Faithlegg)
J O’Donnell (Westport) halved with J Kavanagh (Faithlegg)