Mark BrennanClontarf’s Mark Brennan in full flow at Seapoint. Photo Jenny Matthews/www.golffile.ieClontarf’s Mark Brennan might have failed to make a birdie but he kept his errors to a minimum to take top spot in the RaboDirect Hilary Golf Society outing at Seapoint.

Brennan carded 16 pars and dropped just two shots on a calm, cold day at the course created by Des Smyth and Declan Branigan and though conditions were somewhat benign, the challenging links still provided a stern test. (Click here for picture gallery)

Grizzled veteran John GrantA determined looking John Grant unleashes another missile. Photo Jenny Matthews/www.golffile.ieBirdies were in short supply with neither Brennan nor runner up John Grant of The Island carding a single birdie between them.

Tony O’Regan, a PGA professional at Carton House, won the best gross with a 72 after he came home in two under par 34 having earlier double bogeyed the short second hole where his tee shot found the stream that guards the front of the green.

Portmarnock Links’ Barry Morris was third with 70 but was beaten on a countback by Grant.

The team prize was won with 11 under 61 as gross winner O’Regan combined with clubmate Lloyd O’Rourke and Sutton’s Tony Higgins.

RaboDirect Hilary Golf Society - Seapoint Golf Club

[Next outing, Co Louth Golf Club, Sunday March 24th]

Winner M Brennan (Clontarf) (5) 69

2nd J Grant (The Island) (6) 70 (last 6)

Gross T O’Regan (Carton House) (Scr) 72

3rd B Morris (Port Links) (6)  70

Team T O’Regan, L O’Rourke, T Higgins 61


69 M Brennan (5) Clontarf

70 J Grant (6) The Island, B Morris (6) Portmarnock Hotel & Golf Links

71 S Willams (5) Castle, C O’Donovan (6) Royal Dublin

72 T ORegan (Scr) Carton Hse, K Montgomery (6) The Island, K Knightly (6) Royal Dublin, C Broe (6) Beech Park, F Kennedy (3) The Island, M Chambers (6) Royal Dublin

73 B Murray (5) The Island, L O’Rourke (4) Carton Hse, J Healy (5) Roganstown, P Behan (2) St Annes, G Cooke (6) St Annes

74 J Mulready (Scr) Castle, J McCarthy (2) Forrest Little, D Foley (4) Royal Dublin, J Hutton (5) Coorstown

75 T Lilly (6) Slade Valley, E Kelly (2) Co Meath, R Callan(4) Roganstown, P OConnor (2) Malahide

76 M Kelly (5) Forrest Little, R Hutton The Island, F Costello (4) Castle, M Richards (6) Roganstown, P Byrne (5) St Annes, F O’Connell (6) Forrest Little

77 S Clarke (3) (Royal Dublin)

78 S Kerrigan (4) St Annes, N Worth (1) The Island, JP Kelly (6) Carton Hse, E McCartan (2) Greenore, D Moran (1) The Island, RJ Browne (Scr) Laytown & Bettystown

79 E OHehir (4) Naas, J Keogh (6) Beech Park

81 P Higgins (6) Sutton, J Williams (1) Castle.

NR M O’Donoghue (Portmarnock), P Higgins (Coorstown)