The European ClubA terrible beauty. The European Club on a fine day. Picture courtesy Pat RuddyJust ten players managed to break 80 on the wind-lashed opening day of the Sigma Wireless sponsored Leinster Youths Amateur Open Championship at The European Club.

Mallow’s James Sugrue, the reigning Connacht Boys champion, and Robbie Pierse from Grange carded excellent four over par 75’s at the demanding Co Wicklow links to lead the way.

They top the leaderboard by a stroke from Naas’ Jonathon Yates and Rosslare’s Gary Collins with Greenore’s Caolan Rafferty, Newlands’ Jake Whelan and Moate’s Paul Coughlan just two shots off the pace.

James SugrueMallow’s James Sugrue with last year’s Connacht Boys Championship. Pic via gui.ieHarry Coyne, the plus one handicapper from Carton House, mananged a 78 to share eighth place with Skibbereen’s Kieran Lynch with Knock’s James McVicker the only other player to dip under the 80 barrier with a 79.

Esker Hills’ Alan Lowry, brother of European Tour professional Shane, posted an opening 82.

The top 42 after today’s second round will qualify for Wednesday’s 36-hole finale.

Leinster Youths Amateur Open Championship, at European Golf Club, on 25-27 March 2013
Sponsored by Sigma Wireless


75 J Sugrue (Mallow), R Pierse (Grange)

76 J Yates (Naas), G Collins (Rosslare)

77 C Rafferty (Greenore), J Whelan (Newlands), P Coughlan (Moate)

78 H Coyne (Carton House), K Lynch (Skibbereen)

79 J McVicker (Knock)

80 R Long (Cairndhu), C Geraghty (Laytown & Bettystown), S O’Connor (Carton House), M McClean (Balmoral), T McLarnon (Massereene), J Hood (Galgorm Castle), D Byrne (Athenry)

81 C Keown (Greystones), S Carter (Stackstown), J Robinson (Royal Portrush), S Kinch (Hermitage/NUIM), R McKinstry (Cairndhu), R Brazill (Rathsallagh), J Breen (Kirkistown Castle), N McKinstry (Cairndhu), D Brennan (Shannon), D Shaw (Belvoir Park), N Worth (The Island)

82 R O’Dwyer (Callan), E Farrell (Ardee), A Myles (Newlands), G MacNamara (Woodbrook), A Lowry (Esker Hills), T Lindsay (Fortwilliam), A Connolly (Massereene), C Stone (Carton House)

83 J Galbraith (Whitehead), C Kennedy (Forrest Little), H Scott (Castle), K Murphy (Charlesland), S Sloman (Taunton & Pickeridge)

84 C Woodroofe (Blainroe), A Kiernan (Forrest Little), S Guilfoyle (Arklow)

85 S Cannon (Loughrea), D O’Connor (Athlone), M Ryan (New Ross), M Murphy (Clandeboye), L Grehan (Mullingar), D Foy (Laytown & Bettystown), J Patmore (Lisburn), M Kiernan (Delgany), C Murphy (West Waterford)

86 C Crowley (Woodbrook), S Mernagh (Enniscorthy), J Neiland (Blainroe), C Coyne (Youghal), J Keenan (Old Conna)

87 C Dullaghan (Greenore), D Reddan (Nenagh), J Roche (Bray), J Conroy (Bray), C Melvin (Corrstown), C Gorevan (Carton House)

88 M Nolan (Delgany), J Lindsay (City of Derry/Ulster), E Griffin (Waterford), S Mc Carthy (Killeen Castle)

89 R McCullough (Massereene), D Hinds (City of Derry), E Harris (Douglas), L Harnett (Milltown), E Kelly (Co. Meath), G Young (Birr)

90 B Horgan (Dun Laoghaire), J Sutherland (Galgorm Castle), S Bleakley (Shandon Park)

91 M MacGrath (Limerick), S Irwin (Holywood), B McCormack (Castle Barna)

92 T Sloman (taunton& Pickeridge), B O’Reilly (Athenry), L O’Dwyer (Forrest Little), M Culhane (Limerick), R Mohan (The Island), S Walsh (Carton House)

93 A Conlon (Malahide), A Keenan (Dundalk)

94 I Collins (Bray)

95 S Maloney (Dunmurry Springs), M McCann (Warrenpoint), J Diederichs (Golf Club Hösel)

96 D Fitzgerald (Limerick)

100 E O Brien (Clontarf)

101 J Connolly (Massereene)

103 A Montgomery (Old Conna)

NR M Manweiler Quinn (Bray), E O’Donovan (Craddockstown)

RTD D Cummins (Co. Meath), J Hickey (Cork), T Jordan (Dungannon), D Murphy (Portarlington)

Leinster Youths tee-times